Camden County, New Jersey Genealogy
Camden County, New Jersey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Camden County, New Jersey|
Location in the state of New Jersey
Location of New Jersey in the U.S.
|Address||Camden County Courthouse|
520 Market Street
Camden, NJ 08102
Phone: (856) 225-5300
Camden County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Description
- 3 Camden County, New Jersey Historical Facts
- 4 Parent County
- 5 Boundary Changes
- 6 Record Loss
- 7 Resources
- 7.1 Bible
- 7.2 Cemeteries
- 7.3 Census
- 7.4 Church Records
- 7.5 Court Records
- 7.6 Emmigration and Immigration
- 7.7 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 7.8 Gazetteers
- 7.9 Genealogy
- 7.10 History
- 7.11 Land and Property
- 7.12 Maps
- 7.13 Migration
- 7.14 Military
- 7.15 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 7.16 Newspapers
- 7.17 Occupations
- 7.18 Periodicals
- 7.19 Poorhouse, Almshouse
- 7.20 Populated Places
- 7.21 Probate Records
- 7.22 Repositories
- 7.23 Schools
- 7.24 Taxation
- 7.25 Vital Records
- 8 Camden County, New Jersey Websites
- 9 Camden County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties
- 10 Camden County, New Jersey Genealogical References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Camden County is located in the southwest region of the state. It was created in 1844. Camden is the county seat. The county was named for Charles Pratt, 1st Earl Camden, a British judge, civil libertarian, and defender of the American cause.
Camden County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Camden County, New Jersey Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
1673-1674: A new war broke out and the Dutch sent a large armada to retake New Netherland for a few months. But as the war ended the colony was ceeded to England for the last time.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 1871, Monroe twp. & most of Washington twp. to Gloucester County
- 1902, part of Waterford twp. to Burlington County
- 1926, part of Washington twp., Gloucester County added to Gloucester twp. of Camden County
- 1938, boundary with Atlantic County clarified
- 1950, part from Gloucester County
For animated maps illustrating New Jersey county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation New Jersey County Boundary Maps" (1683-1928) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the County|
|Findagrave||Family History Library||Findagrave|
Mt. Peace, Mt. Pisgah and Mt. Zion cemeteries are located in the town of Lawnside, New Jersey. Lawnside is the first and only town incorporated in the state which is governed by African American. Lawnside is the burial location of over 146 Civil War Soldiers and Sailors. Links specific to each Cemetery: Mt. Peace, Mt. Pigah, and Mt. Zion cemeteries. Web page: Civil War Burials in Lawnside, New Jersey. by S. Jordon
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1855 New Jersey, State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1865 New Jersey, State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — images
- 1895 New Jersey, State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1915 New Jersey State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.
- 1675-1970 - New Jersey, Church Records, 1675-1970 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains the church records of:
- Audubon: Logan Memorial Presbyterian Church
- Camden: Bethany Methodist Episcopal Church; Epiphany Evangelist Lutheran Church; Filmore Methodist Episcopal Church; First Methodist Church; First Methodist Episcopal Church; Kaighn Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church; St. Paul's Episcopal Church; St. Wilfrid's Episcopal Church; Tabernacle Methodist Episcopal Church; Third Methodist Episcopal Church; Trinity Episcopal Church; Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church; Union Methodist Episcopal Church; Wiley Methodist Episcopal Church
- Chews Landing: St. John's Episcopal Church
- Haddonfield: Grace Church; Haddonfield Baptist Church and Cemetery; United Methodist Church
- Contains the church records of:
Episcopal[edit | edit source]
- 1787-1815 - Stevenson, J.R. "Records of St. Mary's Church, Colestown, (Old Gloucester Co.) New Jersey," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jun. 1908):237-240. For free online access, see WeRelate; the Family History Library also has this series in its collection: FHL Book 974.8 B2p. Baptisms 1787-1815, marriages 1795-1796, burials 1794-1795.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emmigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Camden County (over 900 entries)
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Camden County, New Jersey Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Occupations[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Poorhouse, Almshouse[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Camden County, New Jersey Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Camden County, New Jersey Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:
- Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.
In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from:
Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094
Online Probate Records
- 1656 - 1999 New Jersey Wills and Probate Records 1656-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1670 – 1760 Calendar of New Jersey Wills 1670-1760 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1670 – 1817 New Jersey Abstract of Wills 1670-1817 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1678 - 1980 New Jersey Probate Records 1678-1980 at FamilySearch — images
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Camden County Historical Society
1900 Park Blvd & Euclid Ave.
Camden, NJ 08103-3697
Fairview Historic Society
3081 Fenwick Rd.
Schools[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1901-1903, New Jersey, Reclaim the Records, New Jersey Birth Index, 1901-1903 at FamilySearch — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
1606-1981 - New Jersey, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1670-1980, New Jersey, Marriages, 1670-1980 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1901-1903, New Jersey, Reclaim the Records, New Jersey Birth Index, 1901-1903 at FamilySearch — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Camden County, New Jersey Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Camden County
- Camden County, New Jersey History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Camden County NJ Genealogy
- The Camden County NJGenWeb Project, an member of The NJGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
Camden County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Camden County, New Jersey Genealogical References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camden_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
- Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
- "Fort Nassau" in Probert Encyclopaedia of Architecture [Internet site] at http://www.probertencyclopaedia.com/T_FORT_NASSAU.HTM (accessed 10 November 2008). "Fort Nassau was a fort erected on the site of the present town of Gloucester, New Jersey by Captain Cornelius Jacobsen Mey, representing the Dutch West India Company in 1623. It was abandoned and rebuilt a number of times, and finally abandoned in 1651."
- "Location of Fort Nassau" in Gloucester County, New Jersey History and Genealogy [Internet site] at http://www.nj.searchroots.com/Gloucesterco/fortnassau.htm#Location (accessed 8 November 2008).
- "New Netherland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_netherland (accessed 13 December 2008).
- "New Netherland" in Wikipedia.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Camden County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camden_County,_New_Jersey, accessed 8 August 2019.