Cambridgeshire Societies

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Cambridgeshire
Wiki Topics
Cambridgeshire flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cambridgeshire Background
Local Research Resources
England
Cambridgeshire
Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources, or support its efforts.

Addresses of the societies are for the most part where their meetings are held as they are by-and-large not brick-and-mortar institutions.

Regional Societies

Cambridge Antiquarian Society
Law Faculty building
10 West Rd
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB3 9DZ UK
Email: secretary@camantsoc.org
Website: Cambridge Antiquarian Society

The Cambridge Antiquarian Society was founded in 1840 to provide access for local people to the local history, architecture, and archaeology of Cambridgeshire (which now includes the old County of Huntingdon and the new Unitary Authority of Peterborough).

Fenland Family History Society
St Peter's Church Hall
Church Terrace
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire PE13 1HP UK
Email: secretary@fenlandfhs.org.uk
Website: Fenland Family History Society

The Fenland Family History Society was founded in 2001 to promote and encourage the study of family, local and social history with particular reference to persons having lived in, or having been associated with, the historical area now known as Fenland. Fenland comprises the former Isle of Ely, parts of South Lincolnshire and West Norfolk.

Foxearth & District Local History Society
Foxearth Village Hall
School Ln
Foxearth
Sudbury, Essex CO10 7JE UK
Website: Foxearth & District Local History Society

This is the website of the Foxearth and District Local History Society. It is dedicated to the publication of research materials gained by its members on the local history of this part of East Anglia, in England.

The Hundred Parishes Society
Email: hundredparishes@btinternet.com
Website: The Hundred Parishes Society

One of the Society’s objects is to advance the education of the public in the character and history of the geographic area comprising The Hundred Parishes, which encompasses around 450 square miles of northwest Essex, northeast Hertfordshire, and southern Cambridgeshire.

Jigsaw Cambridgeshire
Jigsaw Cambridgeshire, Oxford Archaeology East
15 Trafalgar Way
Bar Hill, Cambridgeshire CB23 8SQ UK
Telephone: 01223 850500
Email: info@jigsawcambs.org
Website: Jigsaw Cambridgeshire

Local communities are a vital tool in helping archaeologists identify, understand and protect Cambridgeshire's rich archaeological heritage. Jigsaw started as a five-year Heritage Lottery Funded project (2011-2016) by Oxford Archaeology East and Cambridgeshire County Council to assist local history and archaeological societies in historical research, excavation, artefact identification, recording, and much more.

Peterborough & District Family History Society
Salvation Army Citadel
1203 Bourges Blvd.
Peterborough, Northamptonshire PE1 2AU UK
Telephone: 01733 203151
Email: secretarypdfhs@gmail.com
Website: Peterborough & District Family History Society

The Peterborough and District Family History Society has now been established for a third of a century. During that time we have successfully raised the profile of family history within the local area, transcribing and indexing many thousands of records and assisting hundreds of people with their research.

Royston & District Local History Society
Royston Town Hall
Melbourn Street
Royston, Hertfordshire SG8 7DA UK
Email: enquiries@roystonlocalhistory.org.uk
Website: Royston & District Local History Society

The Society's objectives are to safeguard, record and preserve the local history of Royston and the area for future generations; increase the level of interest and awareness of local history amongst the town’s residents; contribute to the growth of the Museum; maintain and preserve the Royston Cave for the benefit of the town; and provide consultation on planning applications relating to the historic fabric of the town.

Wesley Historical Society - East Anglia
Swanton Abbott Wesleyan Reform Church
3 The St
Swanton Abbott
Norwich, Norfolk NR10 5DU UK
Telephone: 01603 423535
Website: Wesley Historical Society - East Anglia

The Wesley Historical Society – East Anglia encourages an interest in our Methodist heritage. Area: Counties of Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk.

Cambridgeshire Societies

Abington History Group
Abington Institute (Village Hall)
66 High Street
Great Abington
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB21 6AB UK
Telephone: 01223 893352
Email: jennifer@hirsh.com
Website: Abington History Group

The group, founded in 2000, exists to research the history of the villages of Great and Little Abington and to share their findings with those who are interested. A database of parish and census records has been built up together with a large collection of images, mainly photographs both old and recent. References to land and people from other historical sources are also added to a database. We hold copies of a collection of maps of the villages dating back to 1603.

Archaeology Cambridgeshire East
Soham Library
7 Clay St
Soham
Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 5HJ UK
Email: museum@soham.org.uk
Website: Archaeology Cambridgeshire East

Archaeology Cambridgeshire East (A.C.E.) is a community archaeology group dedicated to exploring the history and prehistory of East Cambridgeshire and focusing on the under recorded archaeology of the East Fen Edge.

Barnwell and Fen Ditton Local History Society
Abbey Meadows Community Wing
Galfrid Road
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB5 8ND UK
Email: johnmoyle@yahoo.co.uk
Website: Barnwell and Fen Ditton Local History Society

Barrington Society
Village Hall
55 High St
Barrington
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB22 7QX UK
Email: pennyclark8@btinternet.com
Website: Barrington Society

The Barrington Society is a flourishing group of interested in local topics and further afield activities, both past and present. Members of the Society run the comprehensive Barrington Archive which traces the history of the village from its geological beginnings to the present day.

Burwell History Society
Burwell Village College, Small Hall
The Causeway
Burwell, Cambridgeshire CB25 0DU UK
Telephone: 01638 741713
Email: judy@iceni.idps.co.uk

Caldecote Local History Group
Website: Caldecote Local History Group

The Caldecote Local History Group has produced the highly successful ‘Book of Caldecote’, and worked with the school and other local clubs and organisations to help record and keep our village’s history alive.

Cambridge Archaeology Field Group
McDonald Institute seminar room
Division of Archaeology
Downing Street
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 3ER UK
Email: info@cafg.net
Website: Cambridge Archaeology Field Group

CAFG was formed in 1978 to carry out practical archaeology in the Cambridge area. Our purpose is to contribute to the archaeology of the region through our own field research, while also assisting the County Archaeology Service and co-operating with other interested groups or individuals.

Cambridge Industrial Archaeology Society
Friends' Meeting House
Jesus Lane
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB5 8BA UK
Telephone: 01763 261915
Email: stevehipkin@live.com
Website: Cambridge Industrial Archaeology Society

The Society’s aim is to study and record the industrial history and artefacts of Cambridgeshire.

Cambridge University Heraldic and Genealogical Society
Latimer Room
Clare College
Trinity Lane
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 1TL UK
Email: DerekPalgrave@btinternet.com
Website: Cambridge University Heraldic and Genealogical Society

The objects of the Society shall be to promote and encourage the study of heraldry, genealogy, and related topics; to promote the preservation, security and accessibility of relevant public and private archival and other material; and to publish any appropriate research findings and other relevant information in a Society Magazine or other appropriate publication.

Cambridgeshire Association for Local History
St John's Hall
11 Blinco Grove
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB1 7TP UK
Email: CambsAssociation4LocalHistory@gmail.com
Website: Cambridgeshire Association for Local History

The object of the Association shall be to advance the education of the public in the study of Local History, with particular reference to Cambridgeshire.

Cambridgeshire Family History Society
Cambridge Central Library
7 Lion Yard
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 3QD UK
Telephone: 01223 853273
Email: secretary@cfhs.org.uk
Website: Cambridgeshire Family History Society

The Cambridgeshire Family History Society exists to encourage the study of family history within the old counties of Cambridgeshire and The Isle of Ely. We offer a friendly point of contact for people worldwide who are interested in the same names, families and places, and we provide a wide range of facilities to support their researches.

Cambridgeshire Record Society
Prioresses' Room
Jesus College
Jesus Ln
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB5 8BL UK
Telephone: 01223 330476
Email: info@cambsrecordsociety.co.uk
Website: Cambridgeshire Record Society

The Society publishes editions of original documents relating to Cambridgeshire and the surrounding area. The volumes, which range from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century, have introductions and notes to make the sources accessible to all Cambridgeshire people interested in their local and family history, and to historians worldwide.

CamDig
No. 37 Lawrence Way Community Centre
Campkin Road
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB4 2PR UK
Email: camdiggers@gmail.com
Website: CamDig

Jigsaw now has an Archaeology Action Group in Arbury, Kings Hedges, and Chesterton, called CamDig.

Cherry Hinton Local History Society
St Andrew’s Church Center
Coldhams Lane
Cherry Hinton
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB1 3JS UK
Telephone: 01223 241559
Email: michelle.bullivant@talk21.com
Website: Cherry Hinton Local History Society

The Society was founded in 1982 to study and share local collections. Since then the society has grown in enthusiasm and size, welcoming and sharing information from other surrounding areas. We are a friendly and approachable group interested in all aspects of local history and its affiliated disciplines countrywide.

Chesterton Local History Group
St Andrews Hall - Chesterton
97 St Andrews Road
Chesterton
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB4 1DH UK
Telephone: 01223 424160
Email: chestertonlocalhistorygroup@yahoo.co.uk
Website: Chesterton Local History Group

Cottenham Village Society
Cottenham All Saints Church Hall
High Street
Cottenham, Cambridgeshire CB24 8SA UK
Email: cottvillsoc@gmail.com
Website: Cottenham Village Society

The Cottenham Village Society was formed in late 1970, its aims being to stimulate public interest in and care for the beauty, history, and character of the village and its surroundings; to encourage the preservation, development, and improvement of features of general public amenity or historic value; to encourage high standards of architecture and village planning in the Parish of Cottenham and also by supporting other village groups; and to pursue those ends by means of meetings, exhibitions, lectures, and promotion of schemes of a charitable nature.

Eltisley History Society
Cade Pavilion
Village Green
Eltisley
Saint Neots, Cambridgeshire PE19 6TG UK
Email: secretary@eltisleyhistorysociety.org.uk
Website: Eltisley History Society

To research, record, preserve, and publish the history of Eltisley and its people.

Ely & District Archaeological Society
New Room
Ely Methodist Church
13-15 Chapel Street
Ely, Cambridgeshire CB6 1AD UK
Email: enquiries@elyarchaeology.org.uk
Website: Ely & District Archaeological Society

The object of the Society is 'to advance the education of the public in their study of archaeology, history and kindred subjects'.

Fen Edge Archaeology Group
Tony Cooper Suite
Cottenham Village College
High St
Cottenham
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB24 8UA UK
Email: feaginfo@gmail.com
Website: Fen Edge Archaeology Group

Our principal aim is to promote further understanding of the archaeology in the parishes of Willingham, Rampton, Cottenham, Landbeach, and Waterbeach, which are in the county of Cambridgeshire.

Fenland Archaeological Society
Mendi's Restaurant
22-23 Old Market
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire PE13 1NB UK
Website: Fenland Archaeological Society

FenArch (formerly known as the Wisbech and District Archaeological Society) sought to build on the enthusiasm and interest generated by the dig at Wisbech Castle to provide further opportunities for participation in Community Archaeology across Fenland. From the outset our aim has been to fully record and report our excavations and seek professional guidance wherever necessary.

Fulbourn Village History Society
Fulbourn Centre
31 Home End
Fulbourn
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB21 5BS UK
Telephone:01223 570887
Email: info@fulbournhistory.org.uk
Website: Fulbourn Village History Society

The Society's first two objectives are to research, keep and maintain records of all aspects of the Village's social and historical development and to publish periodic reports on aspects of village history.

Gamlingay & District History Society
Gamlingay Village College
Station Road
Gamlingay, Cambridgeshire SG19 3HD UK
Telephone: 01767 652899
Email: peterw01@btinternet.com
Website: Gamlingay & District History Society

A society for everyone who has an interest in the history of Gamlingay. It exists to celebrate the history of the village, to collect and preserve an archive of relevant historical material, and to promote interest in history generally.

Guilden Morden Local History Group
Guilden Morden Congregational Chapel
Pound Green
Guilden Morden
Royston, Hertfordshire SG8 0JZ UK
Telephone: 01763 853845
Email: gmlhgr1@​gmail.​com
Website: Guilden Morden Local History Group

The Group’s objectives are to research all aspects of the history of Guilden Morden and to make this available as widely as possible within the local community.

Hardwick Local History Group
Portacabin behind St Mary’s Church
Main Street
Hardwick, Cambridgeshire CB23 7QT UK
Email: hardwickhis@gmail.com
Website: Hardwick Local History Group

The Group aims to promote the study and knowledge of local history, particularly in Hardwick but also in the surrounding area.

Haslingfield Village Society
Haslingfield Village Hall
High Street and New Road
Haslingfield, Cambridgeshire CB23 1JP UK
Website: Haslingfield Village Society

The Society aims to stimulate interest in and maintain the historic character of the village and to develop and improve its amenities and environment.

Histon and Impington Archaeology Group
Histon Baptist Church
2 Poplar Rd
Histon
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB24 9LN UK
Email: hisimp.archaeology.group@gmail.com
Website: Histon and Impington Archaeology Group

Our aims are to encourage within our local community an interest in, and understanding of, archaeology and its relevance to our community heritage.

Histon and Impington Village Society
Brackenbury Room
Impington Village College
New Rd
Impington
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB24 9LX UK
Telephone: 01223 232744
Email: village.society@hotmail.co.uk
Website: Histon and Impington Village Society

The pages of the Society's website give a taste of our joint villages, snapshots from individual years, and stories of local characters and Chivers, the major employer in the village.

Houghton & Wyton Local History Society
Email: info@hwlhs.org.uk
Website: Houghton & Wyton Local History Society

Recording, displaying, and informing about the history of the villages of Houghton and Wyton, Cambridgeshire, England

Isleham Society
The Beeches Community Centre
The Beeches
32 Mill Street
Isleham
Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 5RY UK
Telephone: 01638 780734
Email: gjpreece@aol.com
Website: Isleham Society

The society is a group of friends interested in our village, its history, traditions, preservation, and development.

Kimbolton Local History Society
State Rooms
Kimbolton Castle
Kimbolton, Cambridgeshire PE28 0EA UK
Email: ncb@kimbolton.cambs.sch.uk
Website: Kimbolton Local History Society

KLHS aims to encourage interest in the history of the local area through talks, visits, research, and publications.

Landbeach Society
Landbeach Village Hall
1 The Green
Landbeach
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB25 9ED UK
Telephone: 01223 441769
Email: MSteane@msteane.freeserve.co.uk
Website: Landbeach Society

To encourage the preservation and development of features of historic and public interest in the village.

Linton and District Historical Society
Linton Village Hall
Coles Lane
Linton
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB21 4JS UK
Email: garthcollard@btinternet.com
Website: Linton and District Historical Society

The Society's principal aim is to research and record the history of the Cambridgeshire village of Linton and its surrounding area. It seeks to make this history accessible through public lectures, exhibitions, and publications.

The Littleport Society
Village Hall
Victoria Street
Littleport, Cambridgeshire CB6 1LX UK
Email: vermuyden@gmail.com
Website: The Littleport Society

We have a wonderful collection of artifacts and ephemera from the local area; we also have an extensive genealogy resource.

Longstanton & District Heritage Society
Village Institute
24 High Street
Longstanton, Cambridgeshire CB24 3BS UK
Email: ldhs@hotmail.co.uk
Website: Longstanton & District Heritage Society

Primary Objects of the Society are to act as an advisory body; to protect and promote the heritage of Longstanton and District; to develop archival records in any appropriate format, recording the social, rural, and military heritage of Longstanton and District; and to use LDHS archival collections for Education and Exhibition purposes within Longstanton and District and to raise funds to meet the Objects of LDHS.

Madingley History Group
Madingley Village Hall
19 High St
Madingley
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB23 8AB UK
Telephone: 01954 212593
Email: suebaldwin1000@gmail.com
Website: Madingley History Group

The group is open to everyone with an interest in the heritage, cultural and social history of Madingley. They are currently focussing on the last 100 years, recording villagers’ memories and piecing together a detailed picture of village life which they hope to publish as a book in the future.

March And District Museum Society
March and District Museum
High Street
March, Cambridgeshire PE15 9JJ UK
Telephone: 01733 208550
Email: info@marchmuseum.co.uk
Website: March And District Museum Society

Preserving the history of March & District in the form of artefacts, photographs, and documents. Making this information available to the general public during our regular opening times, via the Internet, mail, or telephone, by specially arranged group visits from schools and other groups and by outreach.

The March Society
March Library
City Rd
March
Isle of Ely, Cambridgeshire PE15 9LT UK
Email: info@themarchsociety.org.uk
Website: The March Society

Our aims are to promote high standards of planning and architecture in March; inform the public in the geography, history, natural history and architecture of March; support the preservation, protection, development and improvement of features of historic or public interest in March; and promote civic pride in March.

Melbourn History Group
The Parish Office
Melbourn HUB
30 High Street
Melbourn, Cambridgeshire SG8 6DZ UK
Telephone: 01763 261144
Email: simmonett@​ntlworld.​com
Website: Melbourn History Group

Meldreth Local History Group
Community Access Point
Sheltered Housing Centre
Elin Way
Meldreth
Royston, Cambridgeshire SG8 6LX UK
Telephone: 01763 260129
Email: info@meldrethhistory.org.uk
Website: Meldreth Local History Group

Our aims are to research and record the history of the village and its environs; create and preserve an archive of local history which can be passed on to subsequent generations; and publish material, both in print and digital forms, for the benefit of the local community and others interested in the history of the village.

Mill Road History Society
Ross Street Community Centre
Ross Street
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB1 3UZ UK
Email: admin@millroadhistory.org.uk
Website: Mill Road History Society

The aims and objectives of the Society are to celebrate and research the history and community of the Mill Road area of the City of Cambridge and its locality, to create a permanent record of that research, and to share it as widely as possible.

Oakington and Westwick History Society
St Andrews Church Hall
33 Water Lane>br>High Street
Oakington
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB24 3AG UK
Telephone: 01223 232614
Website:Oakington and Westwick History Society

A ”hands-on” organisation the Society organises local archaeological excavations of the village and some members are currently building a life-sized replica of the Oakington Plane.

Orwell Local History Society
Telephone: 01223 207328
Email: info@orwellshistory.org.uk
Website: Orwell Local History Society

This website was set up by Orwell Local History Society in January 2013 under the title of ‘Orwell Past & Present' to research and record the history of the village and its environs, and to create an archive of local history which can be passed on to future generations.

Sawston Village History Society
Chapelfield Way Community Centre
Link Road
Sawston
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB22 3GB UK
Email: webmaster@sawstonhistory.org.uk
Website: Sawston Village History Society

The SVHS seeks to encourage the people of Sawston and the neighbouring parishes to take an active interest in all aspects of local history. There are regular monthly meetings with invited speakers on an eclectic range of topics usually, but not always, with some local historical interest.

Stapleford History Society
Stapleford Pavilion
69 Gog Magog Way
Stapleford
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB22 5BQ UK
Email: history@staplefordvillage.org.uk
Website: Stapleford History Society

The Society's aims are to promote public interest in local heritage and history; to increase understanding of the heritage and history of Stapleford and the surrounding area; To actively encourage children and young people to take part in history and heritage activities; to pursue these ends by fieldwork, lectures, workshops, research, and visits; and to make information and data generated through the activities of the Society available to the authorities responsible for updating the Historic Environment Record and to other appropriate organisations, e.g., The Cambridgeshire Collection, Cambridgeshire Archives, etc.

Swavesey & District History Society
The Global Environment Centre
Swavesey Village College
Gibraltar Lane
Swavesey, Cambridgeshire CB24 4RS UK
Telephone: 01954 230037
Email: carolyn.redmayne@ntlworld.com
Website: Swavesey & District History Society

Thorney Society
St. Mark's Church Hall
82 Lincoln Rd
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire PE1 2SN UK
Telephone: 01733 270908
Website: Thorney Society

Our commitment is to local heritage, incuding architecture, archeology, culture, natural history, & arts. The Thorney Society runs the Thorney Heritage Museum which offers displays to visitors, bringing the area's history alive from ancient to modern times.

Thriplow Society
Thriplow Village Hall
Middle Street
Thriplow, Cambridgeshire SG8 7RD UK
Email: shirley.wittering@thriplow.org.uk
Website: Thriplow Society

The Society aims to promote interest in the local history, the environment, and the conservation of Thriplow and the surrounding district.

Toft Historical Society
Toft Historical Society c/o The Toft Shop
6 High Street
Toft
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB23 2RL UK
Email: contact@tofthistory.org
Website: Toft Historical Society

The Toft Historical Society exists to record and preserve every aspect of life in the village of Toft, Cambridgeshire, UK. Learn about the village's historical development, its buildings, its environment, its social life and more, from its earliest origins to the present day.

Trumpington Local History Group
Trumpington Village Hall
71 High St
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 9HZ UK
Email: admin@trumpingtonlocalhistorygroup.org
Website: Trumpington Local History Group

Waterbeach Village Society
33 Bannold Rd
Waterbeach
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB25 9LQ UK
Telephone: 01223 861586
Email: waterbeach.v.s@mac.com

West Wickham & District Local History Club
West Wickham Village Hall
High Street
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 4SB UK
Telephone: 01223 290863
Email: jmmorris@jmmorris.plus.com
Website: West Wickham & District Local History Club

The aims of the Club are to foster interest in and appreciation of the history of the local area.

Whittlesford Society
Email: whitsocinfo@tesco.net
Website: Whittlesford Society

The Whittlesford Society was founded in 1975 to stimulate public interest in the village and its environs; promote high standards of planning and architecture; secure the preservation, protection, development, and improvement of features of public or historic interest in the village and adjacent areas.