Cambridge St Michael, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Cambridge St Michael, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cambridge St Michael, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Cambridge|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Cambridge St Michael, a parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Michael was built in 1337, and restored in 1849; possesses the old stalls of Trinity college chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Besides St Michael Parish, here's a list of all the other Cambridge Town ecclesiastical parishes and chapelries of the Church of England up to about 1870:
- St. Michael - 1538
- All Saints - 1538
- Holy Sepulchre - 1567
- Holy Trinity - 1564
- St. Andrew the Less - 1557
- St. Andrew the Great - 1635
- St. Andrew the Less or Barnwell - 1753
- St. Benedict - 1539
- St. Botolph - 1564
- St. Clement - 1560
- St. Edward King & Martyr - 1558
- St. Giles - 1585
- St Mary the Great - 1559
- St Mary the Less - 1557
- St. Peter - 1586
- Christ Church Chapelry - 1839
- St. Barnabas - 1869
- St. John Mission Church 1874
- St. Matthew - 1866
- St. Paul's Chapelry - 1845 (see also St Andrew the Less)
St Michael Parish registers and those registers of all of its contiguous ecclesiastical parishes and smaller chapelries lying within Cambridge Township boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites cited below.
Cambridge St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
| JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex|
|CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society|
|CAMBRIDGE ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Indexes|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Other chapels and congregations within the township also included--
- Particular Baptist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Primitive Methodist
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints
Information on these records is available on the Wiki page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Cambridge St Michael on GENUKI