Cambridge Queen's College, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Cambridge Queen's College, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cambridge Queen's College, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Cambridge|
|Parish registers: 1635|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
A chapel in Cambridge and one of numerous parishes and chapels in Cambridge. Queen's College was founded by Margaret of Anjou, consort of Henry VI., in 1446, and refounded by Elizabeth Widville, consort of Edward IV., in 1465.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Cambridge Queen's College or Cambridge University on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 June 2013.