Calvert County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Calvert County

Guide to Calvert County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Prince Frederick
Organized: July 3, 1654
Parent County(s): Charles[1]
Neighboring Counties
Anne Arundel  • Charles  • Dorchester  • Prince George's  • St. Mary's  • Talbot
See County Maps
Courthouse
Battle monument & court plaza Calvert, Maryland.jpg
Location Map
MD Calvert map.png
Adoption
Cecil Calvert

County Information

Description

The County was named for Calvert family. The County has Prince Frederick as its seat and the County was created 1654. The County is located in the south central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Calvert County Courthouse
175 Main Street
Prince Frederick, MD 20678
Phone: 410-535-1600
Calvert County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1882.
Register of Wills has probate records from 1882.
Earlier records available at the State Hall of Records.[3]

Calvert County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1882 1898 1882 1882 1882 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss

1882 Courthouse fire destroyed most of the records.[5]Some deeds from 1840-1882 were re-recorded, also abstracts at Annapolis 1784-1882, and provincial court and land office records were used to reconstruct lost deeds.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Calvert County, Maryland:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Calvert County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Calvert County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 8,652
1800 8,297 −4.1%
1810 8,005 −3.5%
1820 8,073 0.8%
1840 8,900 10.2%
1850 9,229 3.7%
1860 9,646 4.5%
1870 10,447 8.3%
1880 9,865 −5.6%
1890 10,538 6.8%
1900 9,860 −6.4%
1910 10,223 3.7%
1920 9,744 −4.7%
1930 9,528 −2.2%
1940 10,484 10.0%
1950 12,100 15.4%
1960 15,826 30.8%
1970 20,682 30.7%
1980 34,638 67.5%
1990 51,372 48.3%
2000 74,563 45.1%
2010 88,737 19.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1800-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Church of England

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises 34,326 entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Calvert County immigration resources include:

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Abington] Berkley, Henry J. "The Abingtons of St. Mary's and Calvert Counties," Maryland Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1930):251-255. FHL Book 975.2 H25m v. 25 (1930).
  • [A'Gambra] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Allnutt] Allnutt, Ernest C. "William Allnutt and Wife Sarah (Mears) Talbott, Widow of John Talbott of Calvert County, Maryland: The Progenitors of the American Colonial Family of Allnutt with One Line of Their Descendants in Montgomery County, Maryland," Maryland Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 33, No. 4 (Fall 1992):712-766. FHL CD-ROM no. 9 pt. 208.
  • [Barbery] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Boteler] Russell, Donna Valley. "The Boteler Family of Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 70, No. 1 (Jan. 1995):9-17. FHL 973 D25aga v. 70
  • [Butler] Hoff, Henry B. "Alexander de Hinojosa and His Descendants in Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 2004):260-273. ($)
  • [Duke] Brandenberger, Evelyn Duke. The Duke Family. 2 vols. [Houston, Texas]: E.D. Brandenberger, 1979-1995. FHL Book 929.273 D885b v. 1-v. 2.
  • [Hickman] Fay, Mary Smith. "The Three James Hickmans: Identifying Revolutionary War Veterans," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1997):52-54. ($)
  • [Hiller] Russell, George Ely. "Hiller and Rosier Families of Virginia," The American Genealogist, Vol. 85, No. 1 (Jan. 2011):9-21.
  • [Lamar] Lamar, William Harmong, "Thomas Lamar of the Province of Maryland, and a Part of His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1897):203-210. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.
  • [Lamar] Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Heraldica: Being a Registry of Virginia Gentry Entitled to Coat Armor, With Genealogical Notes of the Families. New York: The Genealogical Association, 1908. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Martin] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Parker] Russell, Donna Valley. "The Maternal Ancestry of Mary Bates, Wife of Lingan Wilson of Prince George's County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):72-76. FHL 973 D25aga v. 68
  • [Skinner] See Storer.
  • [Smith] Russell, Donna Valley. "Nathan and Thomas Smith of Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 65, No. 4 (Oct. 1990):230-232. Available at FHL.
  • [Sprigg] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. FHL Book 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Storer] Trabue, James D. "Ann and Arthur Storer of Calvert County, Maryland, Friends of Sir Isaac Newton, With the Descendants of Clarke Skinner of Calvert County," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, Nos. 1-2 (Jan.-Apr. 2004):13-27. ($)
  • [Tasker] Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive | Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online;Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • [Waring] Coddington, John Insley. "Ancestors and Siblings of Sampson Waring of Shrewsbury, Co. Salop, England, and Calvert County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 53, No. 4 (Oct. 1977):207-209. FHL 973 D25aga v. 53
  • [Wilson] Rowland, Ralph Shearer and Star Wilson Rowland. Wilsons and Burchells and Related Families, 1608-1976. Fairfax, Va.: R. and S. Rowland, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 W691a.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Early deed books of Calvert County, Maryland were destroyed.

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the surviving Calvert County Deed Books (1812-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdcalvert.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

The 1778 Oath of Fidelity lists for Calvert County have been published in: Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Revolutionary Records of Maryland. Washington, D.C.: R.H. Darby Print., 1924. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Calvert County, p. 139. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Calvert served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Calvert:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • [1732-1733] "Calvert County, Maryland, Tax Lists, 1732-1733," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 30, No. 3 (Summer 1989):90-91; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Fall 1989):128-129; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 1990):8-9; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):48-49. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.
  • [1783] Calvert County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Calvert County Historical Society
    Linden
    70 Church Street
    Prince Frederick, MD 20678
    Phone: 410-535-2452
    Fax: 410-535-4660
    Email: cchsadmin@calverthistory.org
    Website
  • Celtic Society of Southern Maryland
    PO Box 209
    Prince Frederick, MD 20678
    Phone: 410-257-9003
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Calvert," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calvert_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calvert County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. "A Brief History of Calvert County" at Maryland Register of Wills (accessed 15 March 2014).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Calvert County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calvert_County,_Maryland, accessed 6 August 2018.
Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Calvert_County,_Maryland_Genealogy&oldid=3403335"