Calumet County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Calumet County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Calumet County

Guide to Calumet County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Calumet County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Chilton
Courthouse
Address Calumet County Courthouse
 206 Court Street
Chilton, WI 53014-1198
Phone. 920.849.1458


WI Calumet.png


County Information

Calumet County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1858 1850 1840 1840 1850

Historical Facts

1836--Calumet County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County. County seat: Chilton [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Brown  • Fond du Lac  • Manitowoc  • Outagamie  • Sheboygan  • Winnebago

Record Loss

Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1882.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1975 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

  • 1856-1923: General Index to Deeds and Mortgages
  • 1840-1902: Deeds and Mortgages
  • 1849-1980: Tax Rolls

These records are available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Calumet County (USGenWeb Archives)

Maps

WI CALUMET.JPG

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Calumet County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Calumet County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C (These men were from the town of Menasha. There is a town of Menasha in both Winnebago and Calumet Counties.)
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Records 1850-1955: Records are housed at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Name Searchable Index   
Citizenship Records 

Newspapers

Obituaries

Appleton Public Library Obituary Index: Appleton is situated on the Fox River, in Outagamie, Calument and Winnebago counties.

  • Partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.

Probate Records

Online Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook

Libraries

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Wisconsin, Calumet County New Holstein Public Library Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Museums
Societies

Brillion Historical Society
PO Box 35
Brillion, WI 54110
Telephone: 920-756-2835
Website

Calumet County Historical Society
219 Oak St
Chilton, WI 53014-1509
Telephone: 920-849-2084
Facebook

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Telephone: 920-465-2539
E-mail:archives@uwgb.edu
Website
Facebook

Haese Memorial Village Historical Society
N8874 Church St
Forest Junction, WI 54123

High Cliff Historical Society
PO Box 1
Sherwood, WI 54169
Telephone: 920-989-1636

New Holstein Historical Society
PO Box 144
New Holstein, WI 53061
Telephone: 920-898-5258
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 Birth, Death, and Marriage registrations available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms $

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).