Calhoun County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Calhoun County

Guide to Calhoun County West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Calhoun County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Calhoun County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 5, 1856
County Seat Grantsville
Courthouse
Address Calhoun County Courthouse
Main Street
P O Box 230
Grantsville, WV 26147
Phone: 304-354-6725
Calhoun County Website


County Information



Calhoun County, West Virginia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1856 1856 1860 1856 1856

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death from 1856 Land records from 1856[1]

History

Calhoun County, West Virginia Government
Calhoun County, West Virginia History
History of Calhoun County

Parent County

1856--Calhoun County was created 5 March 1856 from Gilmer County.
County seat: Grantsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

1868-77 Birth records are missing for 1868-77.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Calhoun County Polulated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WVGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WVGenWeb Archives
WVTombstone Project
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Calhoun County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


1860

Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[3]

Calhoun County WV Gen Web 1860 Federal Census

Calhoun County, WV Gen Web 1870 Federal Census

Calhoun County, WV Gen Web 1880 Federal Census

Calhoun  1890 Federal Census of Veteran & Widows

Calhoun 1900 WV Gen Web 1900 Federal Census

  

 

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

West Virginia Archives & History Calhoun County Books

Maps

Calhoun County

Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia

Calhoun County, West Virginia Map

Calhoun County, West Virginia Map 1895

Calhoun County, West Virginia Map 2

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Calhoun County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Calhoun County, West Virginia Genealogy:


- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company A (Moccasin Rangers), Company D.
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E.[4]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A (The Moccasin Rangers).[5]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization Records

Newspapers

The Hur Herald

Probate

Online Probate Records

Calhoun County, West Virginia Will Books 1870-1969

West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.

. Includes marriages 1856-1969 - free.

Calhoun County WV GENWEB Births

Calhoun County WV GEBWEB Deaths

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Calhoun County Historical and Genealogical Society, The
P. O. Box 242
Grantsville, WV 26147-0242
President: Robert Bonar
c/o The Society
Secretary: Teresa Harris
c/o The Society

Calhoun County Public Library

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

FamilySearch Catalog

Cyndi's List for West Virginia
Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
Calhoun County, West Virginia Biographies
Calhoun County Genealogy Files  
Calhoun County WV Gen Web Miscellaneous Records 
Welcome to Calhoun coun WV History and Genealogy

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.

Learning How to Edit ourWiki Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calhoun County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  4. Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  5. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.