Calhoun County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Calhoun County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Marshall
Organized: October 19, 1829[1]
Parent County(s): Potawatomi Land[2]
Neighboring Counties
Barry  • Branch  • Eaton  • Hillsdale  • Jackson  • Kalamazoo  • St. Joseph
See County Maps
Courthouse
Michigan, Calhoun County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Michigan, Calhoun County Locator Maps.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John C. Calhoun. The County is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Calhoun County Courthouse
315 W Green St.
Marshall, MI 49068
Phone: 269-781-0730
Fax: 269-781-0720
Calhoun County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and court records from 1867, burial records from 1952, naturalization records from 1918, military discharge records from 1919 and election records from 1972.
Probate Court has probate records. [4]

Calhoun County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1867 1867 1867 1833 1835 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1829--Calhoun County, Michigan was created October 19, 1829 from unorganized territory of Potawatomi Native American land.
    [6]
  • County seat: Marshall[7]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Calhoun County, Michigan online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 10,599
1850 19,162 80.8%
1860 29,564 54.3%
1870 36,569 23.7%
1880 38,452 5.1%
1890 43,501 13.1%
1900 49,315 13.4%
1910 56,638 14.8%
1920 72,918 28.7%
1930 87,043 19.4%
1940 94,206 8.2%
1950 120,813 28.2%
1960 138,858 14.9%
1970 141,963 2.2%
1980 141,557 −0.3%
1990 135,982 −3.9%
2000 137,985 1.5%
2010 136,146 −1.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Battle Creek

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Calhoun County courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Calhoun County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Barry CountyEaton CountyKalamazoo CountySt. Joseph CountyBranch CountyJackson CountyHillsdale County250PX
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Calhoun County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Calhoun County.

- 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Companies D and H

Online Indexes and Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
  • Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Battle Creek Michigan Family History Center
1312 Capitol Ave SW
Battle Creek, MI 49015
Phone: 269-964-0878
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Regional History Museum of Battle Creek
307 West Jackson Street
Battle Creek, MI 49037
Phone: 269-964-0750
website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Calhoun County Genealogical Society
PO Box 879
Marshall, MI 49068-0777
E-mail:MichiganCalhounGene@yahoo.com
Website

Athens Area Historical
101-103 South Capital/PO Box 22
Athens, MI 49011
Phone: 269-729-9228
Facebook website

Historical Society Of Battle Creek
165 N. Washington
Battle Creek, MI 49017
Phone: 269-965-2613

Homer Historical Society
505 Grandview/P.O Box 146
Homer, MI 49245
Phone: 517-568-3116
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.



Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. wikipedia
  2. Calhoun
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Calhoun County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "wikipedia."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. wikipedia
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Calhoun County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 10 September 2019.