Calhoun County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Calhoun County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Calhoun County

Guide to Calhoun County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Calhoun County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Calhoun County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 20, 1854
County Seat Morgan
Courthouse
Address Calhoun County Courthouse
111 School Street
PO Box 111
Morgan, GA 31766
Phone: 229.849.2715
Calhoun County Website


County Information

Calhoun County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Calhoun County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1928
1854

1860
1854
1854


County Courthouse

Calhoun County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Calhoun County Courthouse
111 School St
Morgan, GA 31766
Phone: 229.849.2715

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, land, military and court records from 1854. Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records.[1]


CALHOUN COUNTY COURTHOUSE
ATTN: Clerk of Superior Court
Post Office Box 69
Morgan, Georgia 39866-0069
Telephone: (229) 849-2715
Fax: (229) 849-007

PROBATE COURT
Calhoun County Courthouse
Post Office Box 87
Morgan, GA 39866-0087
Telephone: (229) 849-2115
Fax: (229) 849-2117

History

Parent County

1854--Calhoun County was created 20 February 1854 from Baker and Early Counties. 

County seat:  Morgan [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1888, 1891, 1920 The courthouse was damaged or destroyed by fire, but almost all records survived.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baker County  • Clay County  • Dougherty County  • Early County  • Randolph County  • Terrell County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Calhoun, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Calhoun County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Calhoun County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

  • Military - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Calhoun County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Calhoun County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company L
- 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Calhoun County Historical Society (Edison, Georgia). 1994. Against oblivion: a history of Calhoun County, Georgia. Alpharetta, Georgia: WH Wolfe Associates.(page 584, Ex-confederate Soldiers; List of Widows; ) 975.8956 H2h
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Calhoun County). 1962. Pension records. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. (United States, Georgia, Calhoun - Military records - Pensions) Film 271327

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Calhoun County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Southwestern Georgia Genealogical Society Dougherty County Public Libraries


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calhoun County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 18. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.