Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Caldwell County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Caldwell County

Guide to Caldwell County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Caldwell County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Caldwell County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 29, 1836
County Seat Kingston
Courthouse
MissouriCaldwellCourthouse.jpg
Address Caldwell County Courthouse
49 E Main Street
PO Box 67
Kingston, MO 64650-0067
Phone: 816.586.2571
Caldwell County Website


County Information

Caldwell County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1860 1830 1835 1856

County Courthouse


Recorder Office has marriage and land records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records; Circuit Court, division 2, has probate records; Circuit Court, division 1, has court records.[2]

History

Parent County

1836 Caldwell County was created 29 December 1836 from Ray County. County seat: Kingston [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1860 Courthouse burned April 19, 1860. Most county records were destroyed.
1896 Courthouse burned November 28, 1896.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Carroll  • Clinton  • Daviess  • Dekalb  • Livingston  • Ray

Caldwell CountyDeKalb CountyGentry CountyHarrison CountyDaviess CountySullivan CountyLivingston CountyGrundy CountyLinn CountyCarroll CountyClay CountyLafayette CountyJackson CountySaline CountyRay CountyClinton CountyMOCaldwell.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Brown Cemetery is a small old, but well kept cemetery in Kingston Township which is located about two miles south and 1 3/4 mile west of Kingston, Missouri. (The turn to head west had us on an unpaved road for awhile.)

Cox Cemetery is also known as Spring Valley Cemetery.It is located 3 miles north of Kingston to U Highway, 5 1/2 east to New York School (along this road you will pass Pleasant Ridge Cemetery and maybe even Pleasant Ridge Road), then south 2 1/4 miles, then turn right onto Pleasant Ridge (which is just before you would cross the railroad track). (Prior to your right turn onto Pleasant Ridge, if you look carefully through the trees on the right there is a small white sign with red letters saying "Cox Cemetery" and an arrow pointing to go right.) Then go about 1 mile. The cemetery will be on your right. 39 degrees 29 minutes 17 North 93 degrees 56 minutes 3 West. It is kept mowed.

Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather, comp.. Cemetery Records of Breckenridge, Caldwell County, Missouri. Chillicothe, MO, USA: Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry, c1965. Available on Ancestry.com.

Census

For tips on accessing Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Baptist

Court

The Caldwell County Courthouse is located at 49 E. Main St., Kingston, Missouri. They have an bound volume containing an index to estate packets, and the staff will get individual estate packets for you to look at, after you locate the estate packet number in the index. They charge $1.00 for copies, but will let you use your flash-off digital camera. The index and associated estate packets are NOT on microfilm at the FHL. Found original tombstone orders complete with what was to be inscribed on the tombstone in the estate packet we looked at that was for an individual who died in 1858. Also original tax receipts and original newspaper clippings of public notice in these estate packets.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Bullock, W. P. Atlas of Caldwell County, Missouri. Caldwell, Missouri : Caldwell County Historical Society (Missouri), 1983.
  • Caldwell County Historical Society (Caldwell, Missouri). Atlas of Caldwell County, Missouri 1917.
  • McGlumphy, William Harvey Sheridan. Directory tax-payers Caldwell County. Kingston, Missouri : [s.n.], 1906.
  • Booth, Bertha Ellis. A short history of Caldwell County. 1936.

Maps

Mocaldwell.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Caldwell County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Caldwell County, Missouri:

Union Units

- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union) - Regimental roster
- 33rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Companies E, F, and G - Regimental roster
- 44th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Companies C, F, and H - Regimental roster
- Caldwell County, Missouri Home Guard (Union), - Regimental roster
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B

Confederate Units

- Hughes' Regiment, Missouri State Guard - Confederate, Company D, first known as the Caldwell Minute Men, then the Caldwell Light Infantry Company
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 2nd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Millitia, 6 months (Union), Company B
- 44th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 44th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 44th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C


  • Vilmer, J. D., comp. The Civil War and Caldwell County, 1861-1865. (s.l.: Caldwell County Historical Society, c2011).
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Caldwell County Historical Society, Inc.
89 West Main
P.O. Box 32
Kingston, MO 64650
Website in process

Holdings:
  • Caldwell County historical records
  • Historical artifacts
  • 1831–1838 Mormon era cabin room
  • Pre-1860 original home (museum)

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Caldwell Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Caldwell County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Caldwell County, Missouri Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Caldwell County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caldwell County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.