Bywell St Andrew, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Bywell St Andrew, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Bywell St Andrew, Northumberland | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ancient Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Tindale |
| County | Northumberland |
| Poor Law Union | Hexham |
| Registration District | Hexham |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1668 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1762 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Corbridge |
| Diocese | Durham |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Northumberland Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History
BYWELL (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; The parish is on the north and south sides of the river Tyne, and comprises the townships of Bearl, Broomhaugh, Riding, Stocksfield-Hall, Styford, and part of Bywell; The church is a small edifice with a lofty steeple.[1]
Additional information:
Bywell St Andrew is an ancient parish extending along both sides of the Tyne, from Corbridge to the village of Bywell, where the churches of this, and the adjoining parish of Bywell, St. Peter, are situated. It comprises the communities of Beal, Broomhaugh, Riding, Stocksfield Hall, and Styford.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/45 1762-1874 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Bywell, St Andrew: Records of baptisms 1668-1981, marriages 1685-1991 and burials 1668-1981 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1668-1812 and marriages 1685-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1685-1686, 1705-1812 and banns 1751-1800. Transcripts of baptisms 1668-1812, marriages 1685-1686, 1705-1812 and burials 1668-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.
Census Records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed 06 August 2013.
