Byers Green, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Byers Green, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Byers Green, Durham|
Byers Green St Peter Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Auckland|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BYERS-GREEN, a township, in the parish of St. Andrew Auckland, union of Auckland, S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Bishop-Auckland. 
The name was first recorded in 1183 as Byres and in 1562 as Byres Greine; byres is Old English meaning cowsheds with the addition of Middle English grene meaning a village green or hamlet.
The ecclesiastical parish has its origins in the 1845 creation of a chapelry in the ancient parish of Auckland St Andrew and the dedication that year of a church to St Peter the Apostle. Anglican Church records thus date from 1845.
The River Wear formed a natural boundary of the township of Byers Green and resulted in its relative isolation until the construction of the Queen Victoria Jubilee Bridge which was opened in 1887.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Byers Green fell within the Auckland Registration District from 1837 until the parish was abolished in 1937.
- Auckland Registration District information at GenUKI.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Byers Green parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Byers Green Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- "A Church Near You", Church of England pages for the parish church of St Peter the Apostle, Byers Green, Durham.
- Parish website St Peter the Apostle, Church of England, Byers Green, Durham.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848).Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- "Byers Green Durham." Mills, A. D. (Anthony David), A dictionary of British place-names (2011, Oxford University Press, Oxford ; New York) ISBN 978-0-19-960908-6; published online Oxford Reference (www.oxfordreference.com) 2011-2012 eISBN: 9780191739446 accessed 04 November 2013.
- Durham County Record Office. Binchester St. Barnabas 2012 accessed 5 November 2013.
- Durham County Record Office. Newfield 2012 accessed 5 November 2013.
- "Byers Green" in Kelly's Directory of Durham (11th ed., 1910, Kelly's Directories Ltd)
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.