Butte County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Dakota
Butte County

Guide to Butte County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Belle Fourche
Organized: May 6, 1883
Parent County(s): Lawrence and Mandan [1]
Neighboring Counties
Carter (MT)  • Crook (WY)  • Harding  • Lawrence  • Meade  • Perkins
See County Maps
Courthouse
Butte County Courthouse, Belle Fourche, South Dakota.jpg
Location Map
SD-butte.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Butte Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today



County Information

Description

It's county seat is Belle Fourche. It was organized 1883. It is located in the western area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Butte County Courthouse
839 5th Avenue
Belle Fourche, SD 57717
Phone: 605.892.2516

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1905, burial records from 1930 and land records;
County Treasurer has marriage records from 1890;
Clerk Court has divorce records from 1890, probate records from 1884 and court records from 1892[3]

Butte County, South Dakota Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1905 1890 1905 1892 1883 1884 1850
*State birth and death records began in 1905.
Compliance for recording births was 1906 and 1932 for deaths.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Butte County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 1,037
1900 2,907 180.3%
1910 4,993 71.8%
1920 6,819 36.6%
1930 8,589 26.0%
1940 8,004 −6.8%
1950 8,161 2.0%
1960 8,592 5.3%
1970 7,825 −8.9%
1980 8,372 7.0%
1990 7,914 −5.5%
2000 9,094 14.9%
2010 10,110 11.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before South Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of South Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[8] See links listed below.

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of South Dakota starting in 1890, although only one page survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Presbyterian Church

Other Church Records
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Ward and Branch Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Butte County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Harding CountyPerkins CountyMeade CountyLawrence CountyCrook County, WyomingCarter County, MontanaSD BUTTE.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to South Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and South Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see South Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see South Dakota Newspapers.

South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Butte then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

— index

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Tri-State Genealogical Society
Public Library
905 5th Ave
Belle Fourche, SD 57717
Website
Membership to the Society is $10 / year, beginning Oct

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/sdak/butte/ accessed 1/30/2017
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Butte County, South Dakota, p.623
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butte County, South Dakota. Page 623 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 620.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 671; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Butte County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butte_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 2 November 2016.
  8. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 617. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Butte_County,_South_Dakota_Genealogy&oldid=3036628"