To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Butler Pennsylvania Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Whether you are just beginning to trace your roots or need additional resources to complete your search, the Butler Family History Center offers access to the extensive resources available through FamilySearch International and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The center is open to the public and admission is free of charge. Everyone is welcome! We can arrange for group visits by confirmed reservation only.

Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

  • Language: English
  • Address: 365 Sawmill Run Road, Butler, Pennsylvania 16001-8679
  • Use the East entrance, or just ask someone where the Family History Center is when you walk in.
  • Phone:
  • 1-412-585-5622
  • E-mail: Please email Jan DeMartini at jkdemartini@gmail.com to receive an immediate response. (This website's formal email address will remain pa_butler@familyhistorymail.org).
  • Open Hours: Wednesdays from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm
  • Flexible Hours: Contact the FHC Director, Jan DeMartini at 412-585-5622 to schedule time in the Family History Center at your convenience.
  • Classes and Training: Classes are listed below, however, consultants are available to provide one-on-one training on topics of your choice. Please email us to set up a time and training session.
  • Saturday hours can be scheduled by contacting the FHC Director at 412-585-5622.
  • Holiday Schedule: Wednesday evening hours may be cancelled during major holidays (Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas). Call to make sure staffing will be available at those times.

Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]

Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]

Tuesday - October 8th, 2019 @ 6:00 pm: The Butler County Genealogical Society will be visiting the Butler PA Family History Center. Please join us to review the resources available, how to sign up for a free FamilySearch account, and accessing the FamilySearch Portal that provides access to many resources that you would normally have to have a subscription to access. See the list of free resources through the Portal below under CENTER RESOURCES.

Class Schedule - The following topics can be reviewed one-on-one by visiting the Family History Center on Wednesday evenings:[edit | edit source]

- Using Record Seek

- Accessing Additional Resources through the FHC Portal

- Navigating Family Search for New Users

- Registering for Free Access to Ancestry, FindMyPast, and MyHeritage.  

Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]


Center Resources[edit | edit source]

Microfilm 1792926: Greek Catholic parish registers of births, marriages and deaths for Nižná Rybnica.

Microfilm 1792927: Greek Catholic parish registers of births, marriages and deaths for Nižná Rybnica.

Microfilm 1792928: Greek Catholic parish registers of births, marriages and deaths for Nižná Rybnica.

Microfilm 1792929: Greek Catholic parish registers of births, marriages and deaths for Nižná Rybnica.

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

  • FHC Portal: This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. Access includes: Ancestry, FindMyPast, MyHeritage, American Ancestors, Geneanet, Fold3, Newspapers Digital Archives, Footnote.com, Godfrey Memorial Library, Heritage Quest On-Line, 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive, Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War, The Genealogist, Historical Map Works Library Edition, World Vital Records, and much more.

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

  • We have 6 computers available with free premium access, as well as a printer and scanner.

Center Services[edit | edit source]

Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]

  • Italian Records

Other Resources[edit | edit source]

Guides[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

  • Family history centers (FHC) are branches of the Family History Library. • Over 4,000 family history centers operate in more than 88 countries. • Local family history centers are staffed by helpful volunteers. • About 100,000 rolls of microfilm are circulated to family history centers each month. • Click here to locate the nearest family history center, in your area, or call 1-866-406-1830 in the United States and Canada.
    • If you cannot find a source you need at the Family History Library, try one or more of these other repositories.

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Repositories with Very Large Genealogical Collections

  • Library of Congress, Washington, DC, Local History and Genealogy Reading Room is part of the world's largest library including 50,000 genealogies, 100,000 local histories, and collections of manuscripts, microfilms, maps, newspapers, photographs, and published material, strong in North American, British Isles, and German sources.[1]
  • National Archives, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.[2]
  • Allen County Public Library (Indiana) home of the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), more than 350,000 printed books and 513,000 items of microfilm/fiche including family histories, censuses, city directories, passenger lists, military records, local histories, American Indians, African Americans, Canadian, British, & German collections.[3]

Repositories with significant Utah local history and Mormon Pioneer collections

  • Church History Library, Salt Lake City, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints history 1830-present: diaries, manuscripts, Church records, photos, oral history, architectural drawings, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, maps, microforms, audiovisual material[4]
  • Daughters of Utah Pioneers, SLC, the Museum displays artifacts, and the History Department collects and preserves about 100,000 histories of pioneers who set out for, settled, or were born in Utah by 10 May 1869.[5]
  • Utah State Historical Society, SLC, family histories, photographs, books, manuscript collections, telephone directories, maps, newspapers, yearbooks, and periodicals are available in the Research Center and online.[6]

Other Sources


Links[edit | edit source]


Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]

If you would like to volunteer at the Center and / or provide the capability for additional center hours of operation, please contact the FHC Director - Jan DeMartini at 412-585-5622.


To find instructions on how to edit Family History Center pages, go to Updating Family History Center wiki pages. If you need more help, send an email to: wikisupport@familysearch.org.