Butler County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Butler County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Butler County

Guide to Butler County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: El Dorado
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county [1]
Neighboring Counties
Chase  • Cowley  • Elk  • Greenwood  • Harvey  • Marion  • Sedgwick  • Sumner
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasButlerCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Butler County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for a United States senator from South Carolina, Andrew Pickens Butler. The County has El Dorado as its seat and the County was created 1855.[2] The County is located in the south central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Butler County Courthouse
200 W. Central Ave.
El Dorado, Kansas 67042-2101
Phone: 316.322.4232
Butler County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1887-1912 and land records from 1887.
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records. [1]

Butler County, Kansas Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1861 1887 1860 1887 1869 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Butler County, Kansas:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Hopkins
  • Keighley
  • Palmer
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Augusta
  • Benton
  • Bloomington
  • Bruno
  • Chelsea
  • Clay
  • Clifford
  • Douglass
  • El Dorado
  • Fairmount
  • Fairview
  • Glencoe
  • Hickory
  • Lincoln
  • Little Walnut
  • Logan
  • Milton
  • Murdock
  • Pleasant
  • Plum Grove
  • Prospect
  • Richland
  • Rock Creek
  • Rosalia
  • Spring
  • Sycamore
  • Towanda
  • Union
  • Walnut
Ghost towns
  • Aikman
  • Alki
  • Amador
  • Browntown
  • Chelsea (now lies under El Dorado Lake)
  • Durachen
  • Frazier
  • Lorena
  • Magna City
  • Midian
  • Ophir
  • Oil Hill
  • Oil Valley
  • Providence
  • Ramsey
  • Salter
  • Vanora
  • Wingate

See Also: National Register of Historic Places in Butler County, Kansas

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Butler County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 437
1870 3,035 594.5%
1880 18,586 512.4%
1890 24,055 29.4%
1900 23,363 −2.9%
1910 23,059 −1.3%
1920 43,842 90.1%
1930 35,904 −18.1%
1940 32,013 −10.8%
1950 31,001 −3.2%
1960 38,395 23.9%
1970 38,658 0.7%
1980 44,782 15.8%
1990 50,580 12.9%
2000 59,482 17.6%
2010 65,880 10.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[7] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[8] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Butler County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Butler CountyMarion CountyChase CountyGreenwood CountyElk CountyCowley CountySumner CountySedgwick CountyHarvey CountyButler, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Kansas. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Kansas Military Records.

Collections Covering Multiple Wars

Civil War

Men from Butler county enlisted in the 9th Kansas Infantry Regiment, Company L.

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see Kansas Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Butler and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Butler County Historical Society
383 E Central Ave
PO Box 696
El Dorado, KS 67042
Telephone Number: 316-321-9333
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butler County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Butler, Kansas Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/kan/butler/ 7/24/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Butler, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butler_County,_Kansas 7/24/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butler County, Kansas. Page 248 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 234.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "BUTLER COUNTY, KANSAS," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butler_County,_Kansas#Cities, accessed 8 September 2017.
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.