Burton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Burton-in-Lonsdale, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Burton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Settle|
|Parish registers: 1821|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1847|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Chapel History[edit | edit source]
BURTON-IN-LONSDALE, or Black-Burton, a township-chapelry in Thornton-in-Lonsdale parish, W. R. Yorkshire. Pop., 597. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Burton in Lonsdale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BURTON IN LONSDALE CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thornton in Lonsdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the THORNTON IN LONSDALE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Burton in Lonsdale census enumerators books 1841-1901.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)Adapted; Date accessed: 14 December 2013.