Burton Overy, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Burton Overy, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Burton Overy, Leicestershire|
St Andrew Burton Overy Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Billesdon|
|Parish registers: 1575|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1572|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BURTON-OVERY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 7½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Leicester. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Burton Overy like this:
BURTON-OVERY, a parish in Billesdon district, Leicestershire; near the Union canal, 6 miles E by S of Wigston r. station, and 7 SE by E of Leicester. There is an Independent chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Burton Overy, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Burton Overy, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Burton Overy Bap 1575 - 1877 Marr 1575 - 1990 (Banns to 1959) Bur 1575 - 1936
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.