Burt County, Nebraska Genealogy
Guide to Burt County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Burt County Courthouse
111 N. 13th Street, Suite 9
Tekamah, NE 68061-1043
Burt County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Judge has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. 
Burt County, Nebraska Record Dates
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in Burt County, Nebraska:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
In addition to the federal census of 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 Burt County can also be found in several territorial and state census. For tips on accessing Burt County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.
State Census Records
- 1854 - 1870 - Nebraska, Compiled Census Index, 1854-1870 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
- 1860 - 1885 - Nebraska State Census Collection 1860-1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nebraska Land and Property
Local histories are available for Burt County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
History of the State of Nebraska first published in 1882 by The Western Historical Company, A. T. Andreas, Proprietor, Chicago, IL. Includes a detailed chapter on Burt County. Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library. (Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska: Burt County Produced by Karen Elliott.)
"Burt County Nebraska in the World War, VICTORY" 1919 , published by The Burt County Herald, Tekamah, NE. (Produced by William Wever, T&C Miller with index.)Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library.
"Noteworthy Men of Tekamah and Vicinity", by Ott Brothers, 1905. Republished on the web by NEGenWeb Project Resource Center On-Line Library.
A history of Burt County, Nebraska : from 1803 to 1929. Wahoo, Neb. : Ludi Print. Co., [1929?] Available online through Heritage Quest (check with your local library through which you may have access already to Heritage Quests databases) FamilySearch Books Online
Story of an old town: with reminiscences of early Nebraska and biographies of pioneers by DeMilt, A. P. Omaha, Neb.: Douglas Print. Co. 1902 [about Decatur, Burt County, NE, chapter 6 is about early Burt County in general with biographical sketches] Available online through Heritage Quest (check with your local library through which you may have access already to Heritage Quests databases).
Who's Who in Burt County, Nebraska, 1940. by Douglas C. Sutherland. Transcribed by Karen Elliott for NEGenWeb Project.
A Craig scrapbook: a story of a village in Burt County, Nebraska by Lang, Russell Clark; Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, c2008 Available online by BYU Digital Archives. FamilySearch Books Online
1884 Atlas of State: Record of County Officials of Burt County, Nebraska 1855 - 1884. Transcribed and submitted by Bonnie Marks for USGenWeb Project.
"Nebraska... Our Towns" contains short histories of the individual towns in Burt county. "Historical Nebraska" is part of "Virtual Nebraska" by the University of Nebraska, Lincoln.
Maps and Gazetteers
Burt County website has a group of useful maps including very detailed road, county, and city maps.
Nebraska Department of Roads website lists a number of very detailed historic maps.
- Nebraska Gazetteer - database for all known places found in 1890 and 1911 Nebraska gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nebraska - shows boundary changes for Nebraska Counties
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- 1861 - 1865 - Nebraska Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Military Pensioners, 1 January 1883 transcribed by Alice Miller for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives
- 1891 - Nebraska Resident Military Roster on June 1, 1891 at Ancestry.com - ($), Roster of Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines of the War of 1812, the Mexico War, and the War of the Rebellion, residing in Nebraska June 1, 1891
- 1893 - Roster of Nebraska Veterans - list of veterans in 1893
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I
- Burt County WWI Draft Records and Military Personal transcribed by Bill Weaver for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives
- 1917 - 1918 - World War I Drafts 1917-1918 - index only
- For more nationwide World War I databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.
Nebraska Newspapers Online
- Nebraska Newspapers - contains images of newspapers throughout Nebraska
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nebraska newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs
- Nebraska State Historical Society - catalog of known Nebraska newspapers; lists repositories that have the newspapers
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- 1870 - 1990 — Nebraska Prisoner Records 1870-1990 — index only
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Burt - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- 1855 - 1995 — Nebraska Marriages, 1855-1995 at FamilySearch — index only
- 1856 - 1898 — Nebraska Marriages 1856-1898 at Ancestry.com ($), index only
- 1861 - 1937 - Marriage Records 1861-1937 transcribed by Bill Weaver for USGenWeb Nebraska Archives
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Swedish Heritage Center
301 North Chard Avenue
Oakland, NE 68045
Phone: 402-685-6161 or 402-685-5057
- Swedish Heritage Center
- Lyons Public Library
335 Main Street
Lyons, NE 68038-0198
- Oakland Public Library
110 East 3rd Street
Oakland, NE 68045-1356
- Tekamah Public Library
204 South 13th Street
Tekamah, NE 68061-1304
- Lyons Public Library
- Burt County Historical Society
P.O. Box 125
Tekamah, NE 68061-0125
- Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society (NENGS)
P.O. Box 249
Lyons, NE 68038-0249
- Burt County Historical Society
- Nebraska Genealogy: Burt County Page
- Linkpendium: Burt County
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- http://genealogytrails.com/neb/burt/ accessed 10/26/2016
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burt_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Wikipedia contributors, "Burt County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burt_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.