Burrough Green, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Burrough Green

Guide to Burrough Green, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burrough Green, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Radfield
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

BURROUGH-GREEN (St. Augustine), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Radfield, county of Cambridge, 5½ miles (S.) from Newmarket. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burrough Green, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Burrough Green, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1872 1599-1872
1599-1872

Parish registers for Burrough-Green, 1571-1876 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Burrough-Green, 1599-1872 have been digitised

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Burrough Green on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.