Burnham Sutton, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Burnham Sutton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy:' parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Burnham Sutton, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Docking|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
BURNHAM-SUTTON (St. Albert), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Brothercross, W. division of Norfolk, adjoining Burnham-Westgate.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
A ruined Ancient Parish Church of St Ethelbert Burnham Sutton (see Norfolk Churches website http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/burnhamsutton/burnhamsutton.htm for images) at the eastern end of Burnham was incorporated into All Saints Burnham Ulph, Norfolk parish under the rectorship of both parishes in the 1760's by Reverend Edmund Nelson. Edmund Nelson's son was destined to become Admiral Horation Nelson.
Burnham Market is a village and civil parish near the north coast of Norfolk, England. Burnham Market is one of the Burnhams, a group of adjacent villages in North Norfolk. It is the result of the merger of three of the original Burnham villages, namely Burnham Sutton, Burnham Ulph and Burnham Westgate.
Burnham Market lies approximately 1 mile (2 km) inland, some 5 miles (8 km) west of Wells-next-the-Sea, 12 miles (19 km) east of Hunstanton and 10 miles (16 km) north of Fakenham. The smaller villages of Burnham Deepdale and Burnham Norton are within 2 miles (3 km) to the west and north of Burnham Market, whilst Burnham Overy and Burnham Thorpe are a similar distance to the east. North Creake is some 4 miles (6 km) to the south. The larger town of King's Lynn is 20 miles (30 km) to the south-west, whilst the city of Norwich is 30 miles (50 km) to the south-east. For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Burnham Sutton, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Burnham Sutton, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
|Refer to Burnham Ulph, Norfolk for additional parish records.|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Burnham Sutton with Ulph on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-445. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.