Burlöv Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Burlöv Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
Burlöv Municipality is a municipality in Skåne County in southern Sweden, just north of Malmö. Its seat is located in Arlöv, a community which for geographical and statistical purposes is seen as a part of Malmö.
The municipality is one of only a few in Sweden, and the only one in Scania, which still contains only the original municipal entity created from the old parish in 1863 and has not been united. It is the second smallest municipality by area in the country.
|Burlöv Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy|
|Län||Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.|
|Härad||Bara (part of the parish), - 1888 Oxie (for smaller part of parish)|
|Tingslag||1852-1899 Bara, 1865-1872 Oxie härad (part of parish), 1873-1887 Oxie and Skytts härader, 1900- Torna and Bara härader|
|Domsaga||1682-1690 Oxie, Torna and Bara härader, 1691-1851 Torna, Bara and Harjagers härader (part of parish), 1691-1864 Oxie, Skytt and Vemmenhögs härader, 1852-1970 Torna and Bara härader (part of parish), 1865-1887 Oxie and Skytts härader, 1971- Lund|
|Fögderi||1720 - 1873 Oxie, Skytts and Vemmenhögs, 1874 - 1887 Oxie and Skytts, 1888 - 1917 Torna and Bara, 1918-1946 Lund, 1946- Malmö, 1952- Malmö (Åkarps municipality)|
|Militär indelning||SKÅNSKA HUSAR-REGEMENTET: Hoby Sqvadron, Landskrona Kompani, SÖDRA SKÅNES REGEMENTE: Lif-Kompaniet|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/LLA/13050|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Arlöv, Arlöv skolhus
Burlöv, Burlöv efter socknen, Burlöv fattighus, Burlöv klockarens, Burlöv kvarn, Burlöv skolhus, Bärnstorp, Bärnstorp kvarn
Sege kvarn, Spillepäng, Sunnanå, Sunnanå efter socknen, Sunnanå skolhus
Tågarp, Tågarp efter socknen, Tågarp skolhus
Åkarp efter socknen, Åkarp, Åkarp skolhus
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Malmöhus Church Records, 1541-1918; index 1646-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Burlöv Församling Husförhörslängd 1843 - 1851 Ortregister