Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota
Burke County

Guide to Burke County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Bowbells
Organized: February 8, 1910
Parent County(s): Ward [1]
Neighboring Counties
Divide  • Mountrail  • Renville  • Ward  • Williams  • Saskatchewan, Canada
See County Maps
Location Map
North Dakota Burke Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Named for Gov. John Burke. Government organized: July 15, 1910. County Seat: Bowbells.[2]

County Courthouse

Burke County Courthouse
103 Main Street SW
PO Box 219
Bowbells, ND 5821-0219
Phone: 701.377.2718
Burke County Website

Clerk District Court has birth records from 1905, marriage, death,
burial, divorce, probate and court records from 1910, land records
from 1900 and homestead patents from 1903[3]

Burke County, North Dakota Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1905 1910 1910 1910 1900 1910 1836
*State Dept. of Vital Records started births and deaths in 1923.
Full compliance by 1924.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Battleview
  • Bowbells
  • Carter
  • Clayton
  • Cleary
  • Colville
  • Dale
  • Dimond
  • Fay
  • Foothills
  • Forthun
  • Garness
  • Harmonious
  • Kandiyohi
  • Keller
  • Lakeview
  • Leaf Mountain
  • Lucy
  • Minnesota
  • North Star
  • Portal
  • Richland
  • Roseland
  • Short Creek
  • Soo
  • Thorson
  • Vale
  • Vanville
  • Ward


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 9,064
1920 9,511 4.9%
1930 9,998 5.1%
1940 7,653 −23.5%
1950 6,621 −13.5%
1960 5,886 −11.1%
1970 4,739 −19.5%
1980 3,822 −19.4%
1990 3,002 −21.5%
2000 2,242 −25.3%
2010 1,968 −12.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Land and Property Records

Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Maps and Gazetteers

Divide CountyRenville CountyWard CountyMountrail CountyWilliams CountySaskatchewan, CanadaND BURKE.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Local History

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
NFargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Burke County Historical Society
9129 Powers Lake Road
Powers Lake, ND 58773

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy and History
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burke County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burke County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 517.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Burke County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.