Burke County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Burke County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Burke County

Guide to Burke County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Waynesboro
Organized: February 5, 1777
Parent County(s): St. George Parish.[1]
Neighboring Counties
Aiken (SC)  • Allendale (SC)  • Barnwell (SC)  • Emanuel  • Jefferson  • Jenkins  • Richmond  • Screven
See County Maps
Courthouse
Burke County Courthouse; Waynesboro, Georgia.JPG
Location Map
Georgia Burke County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Edmund Burke and is located in the eastern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Burke County Courthouse
111 E 6th Street
PO Box 89
Waynesboro, GA 30830
Phone: 706-554-2324
County Website

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927, marriage and probate records from 1856.[3]

Burke County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1927 1855 1927 1843 1856 1790

Record Loss

1825 The courthouse was burned in 1825.

1856 The courthouse in Waynesboro burned to the ground in the early morning of 24 January, including most county records.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1777 Burke County was created 5 February 1777 from St. George Parish.
  • County seat: Waynesboro[5]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Burke County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Burke, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Burke County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Burke County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Gaburke.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Burke County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Burke County:

- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D


  • Lee, Angela. 1996. Burke County, Georgia. Dover, N.H.: Arcadia. (Civil War see page 23 and 876) 975.865 H2L WorldCat
  • Davis, Robert Scott. 1986. Georgians in the Revolution: at Kettle Creek (Wilkes Co.) and Burke County. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press. 975.8 M2 WorldCat
  • United Daughters of the Confederacy. Margaret Jones Chapter (Burke County, Georgia). 1960. Confederate Cross of Honor certificates issued by Margaret Jones Chapter, United Daughters of the Confederacy, 1907-1916 [Burke County, Georgia]. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 222926 WorldCat
  • Graybill, Tully. 1961. Letters of Tully Graybill, 1861-1906; muster roll of 28th Regiment Georgia Volunteer Infantry. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 262705 WorldCat
  • Cobb, Angela W. 1998. Roster of the Confederate Soldiers of Burke County, Georgia 1861-1865. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press. 975.865 M2 also digital version WorldCat

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Burke County.


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Burke County Genealogical Society
    536 Liberty St.,
    Waynesboro, GA 30830
  • Burke County, Georgia Genealogical And Historical Society
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Burke, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burke_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 16-17. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.