Burgh Parva, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Burgh Parva, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Burgh Parva, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Brinton|
|Parish registers: 1594; For more records see Melton Constable|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
BURGH (St. Peter), or Wheatacre-Burgh, a parish, in the union of Loddon and Clavering, hundred of Clavering, E. division of Norfolk, 6¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Beccles. 
Burgh Parva has been described as a "decayed parish". In the early 19th century it was said to total 400 acres, and belonged to Lord Hastings. But the civil parish has long been absorbed into Melton Constable. Burgh Parva today contains only the church and the Hall along with its farm buildings. St. Mary's Church has been in ruins since the 17th century, with only the tower just about intact today. Beside it stands the 'Tin Church' which was built early in the last century. The Hall is 17th-century, originally part of the Melton Constable estate and used to house younger members of the Astley family. The North Wing was added in 1820 and became a serarate residence in the 1990s.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Burgh Parva, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Burgh Parva, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Burgh Parva on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 431-437. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Burgh Parva', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.