Buntingford, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Hertfordshire
Hertfordshire Parishes
Buntingford

Guide to Buntingford, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buntingford, Hertfordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Buntingford
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known; For more records see Layston
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History

Buntingford, a chapelry, and formerly a market town, in the parishes of Aspeden, Layston, Throcking, and Wyddiall, union of Royston and Buntingford, hundred of Edwinstree, county of Hertford, 12 miles (N. N. E.) from Hertford; containing 581 inhabitants. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends and Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.