Buncombe County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Buncombe County

Guide to Buncombe County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Asheville
Organized: 5 December 1791
Parent County(s): Burke, Rutherford[1]
Neighboring Counties
Haywood  • Henderson  • Madison  • McDowell  • Rutherford  • Transylvania  • Yancey
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaBumcombeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-buncombe.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Buncombe County is located in the Western portion of North Carolina and was named for Edward Buncombe, a Revolutionary War colonel[2].

County Courthouse

Buncombe County Courthouse
69 Court Plaza Run 110
Asheville, NC 28801-3519
Buncombe County Website

Reg of Deeds has b, m, d. bur & land records
Clk Sup Ct has div & pro rec from 1832 & Ct Rec[3]

Buncombe County, North Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1842 1913 1790 1791 1832 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss

1830, 1865--The courthouse fires destroyed many court records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1791--Buncombe County was created 5 December 1791 from Burke and Rutherford Counties.
  • County seat: Asheville[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Buncombe County, North Carolina:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Buncombe County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Baptist

  • French Broad River, near Mills River, N.C. Organized before 1792.[6] Later located in Henderson.

Court Records

Civil action papers, 1808-1889. (Free) Browse online at FamilySearch Historical Collections.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Gash Rising, Marsha Hoffman. "The Gash Family of Buncombe County, North Carolina: Who Was Ebenezer Gash of St. Clair County, Missouri?," The American Genealogist, Vol. 73, No. 2 (Apr. 1998):105-116 Digital Version

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land records in Buncombe County are searchable and the deeds are available online at the Register of Deeds Website

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Ncbuncombe.png

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Buncombe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Buncombe County:

- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company K
- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company F
:- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves. Company A
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company G
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company F
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company I
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company K

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

County Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Buncombe County, North Carolina Genealogical Society
    128 Bingham Road, Suite 950
    Asheville, North Carolina 28836
    Telephone Number: 828-253-1894
    website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Buncombe
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buncombe County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. "French Broad Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.