To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bullock County, Alabama)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bullock County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Bullock County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Bullock County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 5, 1866
County Seat Union Springs
Courthouse
Bullock County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Bullock County Courthouse
217 North Prairie Street
Union Springs, AL 36089,
Phone: (334) 738-2280 Bullock County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Bullock County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1908 1867 1809 1867 1867 1867 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Probate Judge has probate and military records County Commissioner has divorce and land records Clerk Circuit Court has court records [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Colonel E. C. Bullock, of Eufaula. The County has Union Springs as its seat and the County was created December 5, 1866. [3]The County is located in the southeast central area of the state.[4]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1866--Bullock County was created 5 December 1866 from Barbour, Macon, Montgomery and Pike Counties.
County seat: Union Springs [5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Aberfoil
  • Almeria
  • Beans Crossroads
  • Blues Old Stand
  • Bread Tray Hill
  • Bruceville
  • Chunnenuggee
  • Corinth
  • Cornerstone
  • Enon
  • Guerryton
  • High Ridge
  • Hooks Crossroads
  • Inverness
  • Jamback
  • Jenkins Crossroads
  • Mitchell
  • Mount Hillard
  • Omega
  • Ox Level
  • Peachburg
  • Perote
  • Pickett
  • Pine Grove
  • Postoak
  • Sardis
  • Sedgefield
  • Sellers Crossroads
  • Shopton
  • Simsville
  • Smuteye
  • Stavo
  • Suspension
  • Tanyard
  • Thompson
  • Three Notch
  • Tito
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Albullock.jpg

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biography[edit | edit source]

Biographies of many notable residents of Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library - free. Begins on page 514.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bullock, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Bullock county cemeteries.

  • Old Confederate Cemetery. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Year Pop.
1870 24,474
1880 29,066 18.8%
1890 27,063 −6.9%
1900 31,944 18.0%
1910 30,196 −5.5%
1920 25,333 −16.1%
1930 20,016 −21.0%
1940 19,810 −1.0%
1950 16,054 −19.0%
1960 13,462 −16.1%
1970 11,824 −12.2%
1980 10,596 −10.4%
1990 11,042 4.2%
2000 11,714 6.1%
2010 10,914 −6.8%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Black, Elizabeth Griswold. History of Bullock County. 1965. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps[edit | edit source]

MaconRussellBarbourPikeMontgomeryAL BULLOCK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Alabama Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1867–1868, 1921, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1867–1868 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.



Death[edit | edit source]
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Bullock County has two books:

Book 1

Book 2

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Bullock County Historical Society
P. O Box 563
Union Springs, AL
36089
Publication: BCHS Newsletter

Bullock Union Springs Public Library
334-738-2760

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Centre Locator

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bullock County, Alabama. Page 35 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bullock County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/bullock/ 05/29/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Bullock, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullock_County,_Alabama 05/29/2017.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Bullock County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullock_County,_Alabama, accessed 2 October 2018.
  7. Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
  9. Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.