Bulloch County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bulloch County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Statesboro
Organized: February 8, 1796
Parent County(s): Bryan, Screven[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bryan  • Candler  • Effingham  • Emanuel  • Evans  • Jenkins  • Screven
See County Maps
Courthouse
Bulloch county courthouse statesboro georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Bulloch County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Archibald Bulloch and is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bulloch County Courthouse
2 N Main St #103
Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone: 912-764-6245
Bulloch County Website

Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1891 and land records from 1876.[3]

Bulloch County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1796 1919 1891 1876 1816 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1864 The courthouse at Statesboro was destroyed 5 December; however, most records survived.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1796 Bulloch County was created 8 February 1796 from Bryan and Screven Counties.
  • County seat: Statesboro[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Clito
  • Deerfield
  • Denmark
  • Donegal
  • Emit

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bulloch, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Bulloch County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

{{Historical populations |type = USA |heading = Census |footnote = Source: [

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 1,913
1810 2,305 20.5%
1820 2,578 11.8%
1830 2,587 0.3%
1840 3,102 19.9%
1850 4,300 38.6%
1860 5,668 31.8%
1870 5,610 −1.0%
1880 8,053 43.5%
1890 13,712 70.3%
1900 21,377 55.9%
1910 26,464 23.8%
1920 26,133 −1.3%
1930 26,509 1.4%
1940 26,010 −1.9%
1950 24,740 −4.9%
1960 24,263 −1.9%
1970 31,585 30.2%
1980 35,785 13.3%
1990 43,125 20.5%
2000 55,983 29.8%
2010 70,217 25.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page. List of Churches and Church Parishes

Minutes of Upper Black Creek Church, Brooklet, 1832 members Georgia Pioneers ($)

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African-American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Bulloch County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Jenkins CountyScreven CountyEffingham CountyBryan CountyEvans CountyCandler CountyEmanuel CountyGA BULLOCH.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Bulloch County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bulloch County:

- 5th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company E (1st Battalion GA Cavalry)
- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D


  • Daughters of the American Revolution. Archibald Bulloch Chapter (Statesboro, Georgia). 1992. Ancestor histories of members, Archibald Bulloch Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, Statesboro, Georgia. Statesboro, Georgia: Daughters of the American Revolution. Archibald Bulloch Chapter. (Civil War see all pages ) 975.8766 C44 also digital version


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Lunacy Records

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

Records for Bulloch County:
Administration and guardian bonds 1831-1931
Administration bonds 1852-1921
Bonds, inventories and appraisements, letters, marks and brands, marriages, wills 1795-1890 vol A
Guardian bonds 1852-1940
Inventories and appraisements 1874-1927
Letters of Administration 1904-1918
Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship and testamentary 1874-1908
Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship and testamentary 1908-1930
Letters of dismission 1911-1941
Letters of guardianship 1904-1947
Letters of testamentary 1895-1946
Wills and estates 1816-1927
Year's support 1878-1924

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Bulloch County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 42
    Statesboro, GA 30458
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Bulloch, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulloch_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bulloch County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15-16. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Bulloch County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulloch_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 31 January 2019.