Bulgaria Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bulgaria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Bulgaria Wiki Topics
Flag of Bulgaria.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bulgaria Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Bulgaria is a country in Europe bordered by Romania, Serbia, Macedonia, Greece, and Turkey. It was formerly ruled by the Ottoman Empire. The official language is Bulgarian.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Bulgaria Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bulgaria research.

Bulgaria Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bulgaria research.

Ask the
Community

Bulgaria Map[edit | edit source]

Administratively, Bulgaria is divided into 28 districts (or provinces). All take their names from their respective capital cities. The provinces subdivide into 264 municipalities. Sofia, with 1.4 million people, is the capital and largest city of Bulgaria and the 15th largest city by population in the European Union. It is located in western Bulgaria, at the foot of Mount Vitosha.

Bulgariadistricts.jpg

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.





References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bulgaria," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulgaria, accessed 4 May 2016.