Bude Haven, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Bude Haven, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bude Haven, Cornwall|
|Poor Law Union||Stratton|
|Parish registers: 1836|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Trigg Major|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BUDE, a village and small sea-port, on the coast of the Bristol Channel, in the parish, union, and hundred of Stratton, E. division of Cornwall, 2 miles NW from Stratton. there is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Bude Haven St Michael and All Angels is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1836 from Stratton, Cornwall Ancient Parish.
Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Bude Haven Online Parish Records|
Records deposited cover 1836-2004, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Bude Haven.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Bude Haven in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 424-428 Date accessed: 11 March 2013.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.