Buckland Brewer, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Devon Parishes
Buckland Brewer

Guide to Buckland Brewer, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckland Brewer, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shebbear
County Devon
Poor Law Union Bideford
Registration District Bideford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartland
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

BUCKLAND-BREWER (St. Mary and St. Benedict), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Bideford. There is a chapel of ease at Bulkworthy; and the parish contains places of worship for Arminians and Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buckland Brewer, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Buckland Brewer, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1604-1836

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Arminians

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain


Buckland Brewer on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed and adapted: 25 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.