Buckden, Huntingdonshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||St Neots|
|Registration District||St Neots|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Buckden|
|Location of Archive|
|Huntingdonshire Record Office|
Guide to Buckden, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Buckden (St. Mary), is a village and a parish in the union and district of St. Neot's, and the hundred of Toseland, Huntingdonshire, 4 miles S W from Huntingdon. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans and there are two Methodist chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Buckden, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Buckden, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Buckden on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
- 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.