Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Buchanan County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Buchanan County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Buchanan County Virginia History
- 3 Buchanan County Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African Americans
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court Records
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land and Property
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.14 Naturalization
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Probate Records
- 4.17 Taxation
- 4.18 Vital Records
- 5 Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy References
Buchanan County is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is the only county to border West Virginia and Kentucky. The County was named after the 15th U.S. President, James Buchanan.
Buchanan County Virginia Courthouse
Buchanan County Courthouse
P.O. Box 929
Grundy, Virginia 24614
Courthouse burned in 1885
Clerk Circuit Cout has marriage, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1885
General compliance year is unknown.
Buchanan County Virginia History
The county was named after President James Buchanan (1791-1868), who was in office at the time of the county's formation.
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss  
- Lost census: 1890
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
Buchanan County Virginia Places/Localities
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Buchanan County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1962):81-82. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
For a more detailed description, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Buchanan County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Buchanan County: 
For tips on accessing Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
- The 1860 Agriculture Ceneus [sic] of Buchanan County, Virginia. 1992. By Jeffrey C. Weaver. Clintwood, Virginia : Mullins Printing. Available at FHL.
1890 Union Veterans
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. By Ronald Ray Turner. Online at: Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection.
- Early Southwest Virginia Families: Families of Kelly, Smyth, Buchanan, Clark and Related Families of Edmondson, Keys, Beattie, Ryburn, McDonald. 1960. By Elizabeth Kelly Allison. Ann Arbor, MI : Edwards Brothers, Inc. Online at: Hathitrust.
Land and Property
- Looking Back One Hundred Years, a Brief Story of Buchanan County and Its People. 1979. By Hannibal Albert Compton. Knightstown, Indiana : Bookmark. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- The Forests of Buchanan County, Virginia. 1918. By W. G. Schwab. Charlottesville, Virginia : Office of State Forester, University of Virginia. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books.
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Buchanan County, p. 65.
Regiments. Service men in Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (State Line) (Confederate)
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Company D, likely Company I.
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (State Line) (Confederate)
- - 7th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Companies C, F, G, H, and I
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company B.
- - 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F.
- - 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company C and Company E.
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 64th Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company F2.
- - French's Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 Ancestry
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1607-2007 - Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexes to Buchanan County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($).
- 1936-1988 - Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988.
- 1918-1988 - Virginia, Divorce Records, 1918-1988
- Early Deaths, Buchanan County, Virginia, 1858-1896. 1990. By Jesse Stewart. Grundy, Virginia : J. Stewart. Available at FHL.
- 1912-1987 - Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987
Vital Record Substitutes
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Buchanan Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Buchanan County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Cyndi's List
Buchanan County Virginia Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buchanan County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buchanan County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Burned Record Counties (VA-NOTES). (n.d.). Library of Virginia. Retrieved 4 May 2012, from http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/va22_burnedco.htm.
- Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
- USGS Map, Topozone.com
- John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
- Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
- Jeffrey C. Weaver, 64th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 89.