To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Buchanan County, Iowa)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Buchanan County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Buchanan County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Buchanan County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Independence
Courthouse
Address Buchanan County Courthouse
210 N. 5th Ave NE
Independence, IA 50644-1959 Phone:(319) 334-2196
Buchanan County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for US president James Buchanan. The County has Independence as its seat and the County was created 1837. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[1]

Buchanan County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1848 1880 1845 1846 1845 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clerk District Court has Birth and Death Records from 1880, Marriage Records from 1848, Divorce, Probate and Clerk Records from 1845.


History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1837--Buchanan County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque County.  It was attached to Dubuque and Delaware Counties prior to organization 4 October 1847.  County seat:  Independence[3]

Buchanan County History

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a list of cities and townships go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.org.

♦ Aurora ♦ Brandon FamilySearch Catalog ♦ Bryantsburg ♦ Chatham ♦ Doris ♦ Fairbank ♦ Gatesville ♦ Hamerville ♦ Hazleton FamilySearch Catalog ♦ Independence FamilySearch Catalog ♦ Jesup ♦ Lamont FamilySearch Catalog♦ Littleton ♦ Monti ♦ Otterville ♦ Quasqueton ♦ Rowley ♦ Shady Grove ♦ Stanley ♦ Vista ♦ Winthrop FamilySearch Catalog ♦ Wise

Buchanan County Townships

♦ Buffalo ♦ Byron ♦ Cono ♦ Fremont ♦ Homer ♦ Jefferson ♦ Liberty ♦ Madison ♦ Middlefield ♦ Newton ♦ Perry ♦ Sumner ♦ Washington ♦ Westburg

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Benton • Black Hawk • Bremer • Clayton • Delaware • Fayette • Linn

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Burials[edit | edit source]

WPA 1930's Graves Registration Survey

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.


Census[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

United States Census

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Aurora

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Aurora, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Independence

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Independence, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court[edit | edit source]

  • Many Court records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic detailsfrom their catalog.
  • Many Guardianship records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.


Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


  • Many Plat Book records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
  • Many Land and Property records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Local Histories [edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Many Local History records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
  • Garfield, James A. History of Buchanan County, Iowa : with illustrations and biographical sketches. Cleveland, Ohio : Williams Bros., 1881.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Bremer CountyFayette CountyClayton CountyDelaware CountyLinn CountyBenton CountyBlack Hawk CountyIA BUCHANAN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies C and H
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry,
:- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

  • Many Naturalization and Citizenship records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives
  • Bulletin Journal. 1947, 1955, 1962, 1966 Independence, IA, USA Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Winthrop News. 1957 Winthrop, IA, USA Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

  • Buchanan County, Iowa Obituaries
  • Many Obituary records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.


Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Buchanan - Probate records.


  • Many Probate records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog..

Schools[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Many Taxation records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Buchanan County Genealogical Society
103 4th Ave. SE
Independence, IA 50644
Telephone:319-334-9333
E-mail: buchanancoia@yahoo.com
Website

Buchanan County Iowa Historical Society
P.O. Box 321
Independence, Iowa 50644
Telephone:319-334-4616
E-mail: bchs.lkh@gmail.com
Website

Independence Public Library
805 1st Street East
Independence, IA 50644
Telephone:319-334-2470
E-mail: indylib@indytel.com
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "buchanan county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "buchanan county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Buchanan County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Iowa Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Buchanan Hawk County Message Board

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Buchanan, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buchanan_County,_Iowa.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buchanan County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).