Brunswick County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brunswick County, Virginia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Virginia
Brunswick County

Guide to Brunswick County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Brunswick County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Brunswick County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Brunswick County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1720
County Seat Lawrenceville
Courthouse
VirginiaBrunswickCourthouse.jpg


County Information

Description

Brunswick County is located in the South-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia on the North Carolina border and was named for the House of Brunswick which had assumed the English throne in 1714[1].

Brunswick County Virginia Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Brunswick County, Virginia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1750 1853 1810 1732 1732

Brunswick County Courthouse
216 North Main Street
Lawrenceville, VA 23868-0160
Phone: 804-848-2215

Clerk Circuit court has marriage, divorce and probate records from 1732
and land records from 1900[2]

Brunswick County Virginia History

This county takes its name from the Duchy of Brunswick-Lunenburg in modern-day Germany

Brunswick County is said to have been named after the Duchy of Brunswick-Lunenburg in modern-day Germany. This is because the county was named, more directly, after the House of Brunswick, which had gained possession of the British throne in 1714. One of the titles of the Hanoverian kings of Britain was that of Duke of Brunswick-Lunenburg.

Parent County

1720--Brunswick County was created 2 November 1720 from Prince George County. Additional territory from Isle of Wight and Surry Counties was added in 1732.
County seat: Lawrenceville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Most loose papers prior to 1781 are missing, but deeds, court orders, and wills still exist prior to 1781.[3]

  • Lost census: 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Brunswick County Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Brunswick County includes three incorporated towns:

  • Alberta
  • Brodnax
  • Lawrenceville

Brunswick County Virginia Genealogy Resources

African American

Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-18721

  • Brunswick County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1815. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • Register of Free Negroes and Also of Dower Slaves, Brunswick County, Virginia, 1803-1850. 1983. By Frances Holloway Wynne. Fairfax, Virginia : Self-published.

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives Epodunk
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Brunswick County, Virginia Cemeteries.

A partial list of cemeteries in Brunswick County appears below. [4] A more comprehensive list appears in the website titled Cemeteries of Brunswick County, Virginia.

  • Archer Cemetery
  • Barnes Cemetery
  • Bennett Cemetery
  • Bishop Cemetery
  • Bragg Cemetery
  • Carroll Cemetery
  • Clark Cemetery
  • Clary Cemetery
  • Cordle Cemetery
  • Daniels Cemetery
  • Davis Cemetery
  • Dugger Cemetery
  • Edwards Cemetery
  • Elmore Cemetery
  • Emmanuel Cemetery
  • Evans Cemetery
  • Flinn Cemetery
  • Flournoy Cemetery
  • Hardy Cemetery
  • Johnson Cemetery
  • Johnson Cemetery
  • Jones Cemetery
  • Kirkland Cemetery
  • Laffoon Cemetery
  • Lawrenceville Cemetery
  • Lynch Cemetery
  • Macedonia Cemetery
  • New Hope Zion Cemetery
  • Oakwood Cemetery
  • Olive Branch Cemetery
  • Orgain Cemetery
  • Perkinson Cemetery
  • Phillips Cemetery
  • Pleasant Hill Cemetery
  • Powell Cemetery
  • Prospect Cemetery
  • Raney Cemetery
  • Rawlings Cemetery
  • Reid Cemetery
  • Ruffin Cemetery
  • Saint Mark's Cemetery
  • Saint Paul's Cemetery
  • Sculthorp Cemetery
  • Sign Rock Cemetery
  • Stainback Cemetery
  • Stewart Cemetery
  • Taylor Cemetery
  • Trinity Cemetery

Census

  • Brunswick County, Virginia, Poll List 1748. William and Mary Quarterly. Online at: Internet Archive.

For tips on accessing Brunswick County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.

1810


1830

  • Brunswick Co., Va. Census of 1830. 1976. By Don Simmons. Melber, Kentucky : Self-published.

1850

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 12,827
1800 16,339 27.4%
1810 15,411 −5.7%
1820 16,687 8.3%
1830 15,767 −5.5%
1840 14,346 −9.0%
1850 13,894 −3.2%
1860 14,809 6.6%
1870 13,427 −9.3%
1880 16,707 24.4%
1890 17,245 3.2%
1900 18,217 5.6%
1910 19,244 5.6%
1920 21,025 9.3%
1930 20,486 −2.6%
1940 19,575 −4.4%
1950 20,136 2.9%
1960 17,779 −11.7%
1970 16,172 −9.0%
1980 15,632 −3.3%
1990 15,987 2.3%
2000 18,419 15.2%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1890 Union Veterans

Church Records

  • History of Pleasant Hill Christian Church. 1991. By Glennie Clary Bower. Online at: USGenWeb.
Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Fountain Creek (by 1787)[5]
  2. Great Creek (by 1790)[6]
  3. James's[7]
  4. Reedy Creek (by 1775)[7][8]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Brunswick County fell within the bounds of the Meherrin Association.

Church of England

go to See also Meherrin Parish
go to See also St. Andrew's Parish

  • Bath Parish Register (Births, Deaths, & Marriages), 1827-1897, of Dinwiddie County, Virginia and St. Andrews Parish Vestry Book, 1732-1797, of Brunswick County, Virginia. 1993. By William Lindsay Hopkins. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Publishing Company.
  • Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia. 1861. By William Meade. 2 vols. Philadelphia, PA : J.B. Lippincott and Co. Online at: Internet Archive Vol. I and Internet Archive Vol. II. Meade's history of parishes in Brunswick County included.
Quaker

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Ward's Monthly Meeting (1770-1790) aka Sadler's[9]

Court

  • Brunswick County, Virginia Court Records. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.
  • Brunswick County Road Orders, 1732-1746. 1988. By Nathaniel Mason Pawlett. Charlottesville, Virginia : Virginia Transportation Research Council

DNA

DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Brunswick County, Virginia residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.

  • Fletcher - Descendant of James Fletcher, b. c1680s, resident of Prince George County, Virginia, d. 1733 Brunswick County, Virginia. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA. Genetic signature available online  - (Labelled William Fletcher of Accomac County, Virginia/James Fletcher of Brunswick County, Virginia), courtesy: The Fletcher DNA Project.
  • Harrison - Descendant of Benjamin Harrison, b. c1720, d. 1790 Brunswick County, Virginia. Y-DNA 67 Marker Test, FTDNA (labelled H-18, Lineage 2). Genetic signature available online, courtesy: The Harrison DNA Project, World Families Network.
  • Harrison - Descendant of John Harrison, b. 1760 of Brunswick County, Virginia, d. 1822. Y-DNA 67 Marker Test, FTDNA (labelled H-101, Lineage 2). Genetic signature available online, courtesy: The Harrison DNA Project, World Families Network.

Genealogy

More than 225 genealogies have been published about Brunswick County families. To view a list, visit Brunswick County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

  • Adam Symes and His Descendants. c1938. By Jane Sims Davison Morris. Philadelphia, PA : Dorrance and Co. Publishers. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Early Trotters of Brunswick County, Virginia and All the Descendants of Colonel Isham Trotter. 1950. By William Wingfield Wilkinson. Elkton, KY : n.p. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Kinfolks, A Genealogical and Biographical Record of Thomas and Elizabeth (Stuart) Harllee, Andrew and Agnes (Cade) Fulmore, Benjamin and Mary Curry, Samuel and Amelia (Russell) Kemp, John and Hannah (Walker) Bethea, Sterling Clack and Frances (king) Robertson, Samuel and Sophia Ann (Parker) Dickey ... Their Antecedents, Descendants, and Collateral Relatives. 1937. By William Curry Harllee. New Orleans, LA : Searcy & Pfaff, Ltd. Vol 3. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Lineal Descendants of Major Samuel Kelly Lucy : Native of Brunswick County, Virginia, Born February 7, 1801 ... died November 2, 1876. 1937. Compiled by: Calvin Tompkins Lucy. Online at: Internet Archive.
  • Luke Matthews of Brunswick County Virginia and His Descendants. By William Kennon Matthews. Kobe, Japan : H. Kodama. Online at: Internet Archive.
  • Reliques of the Rives (Ryves). 1929. By James Rives Childs. Lynchburg, VA : J. P. Bell Co., Inc. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • The Duke-Symes Family. c1940. By Jane Sims Davison Morris. Philadelphia, PA : Dorrance and Co. Publishers. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Tillman & Hamilton Family Records With Their Many Ancestral Lineages. 1959. Compiled by James David Tillman, Jr. Meridian, MS : Privately Printed. Vol 1. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Trotter Genealogy : The Virginia-Tennessee-Mississippi Trotter Line, 1725-1948. c1948. By Mrs. Isham Trotter, Jr. Louisville, KY : Mayes Printing Co., Inc. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • The Story of the Myricks. 1952. By Allie Goodwin Myrick Bowden. Macon, GA : The J. W. Burke Co. Online at: Hathitrust.

General

  • Inventory of County Archives of Virginia: No. 13, Brunswick County (Lawrenceville). 1943. By The Virginia Historical Records Survey Service Division. Online at: Brunswick Co Archives.

Immigration

  • Items from Southern Record. By Milnor Ljungstedt. The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. FHL US/CAN Book 973 D25aga. Shows Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Land and Property

Deeds

  • Brunswick County, Virginia Deeds. 1991. Miami Beach, Florida : T.L.C. Genealogy.
  • Brunswick County, Virginia, Deeds, Wills, Etc., No. 1, 1732-1740. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1957):73-79; Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1957):124-131; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1957):163-168; Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1958):33-37; Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1958):87-90; Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1958):124-127; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1958):172-176; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1959):27-33; Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1959):65-70; Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1959):103-112; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1959):153-161. CD available at: American Ancestors ($), FHL,
  • Brunswick County, Virginia Land Records. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.


Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • 821 patents dated 1717-1801 in What is Now Brunswick County, Virginia Placed on a Map. By Hudgins. DeedMapper, 2002. Online at: Brunswick Co. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.

Local Histories

  • Brunswick County, Virginia, 1720-1975. 1975. By Henry L. Mitchell, Gay Neale, W. M. Pritchett. Brunswick County, Virginia : Brunswick County Bicentennial Committee. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Brunswick County and Fort Christiana. William and Mary College Quarterly, Vol. 9, No. 4. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.
  • Geography Supplement of Brunswick County. 1928. By Mrs. Thomas R. Witten, Virgie M. Hammack, Lucille F. Keeton, Frances B. Ripberger. Charlottesville, VA : Brunswick County School Board, University of Virginia. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Virginia Counties: Those Resulting from Virginia Legislation. Bulletin of the Virginia State Library. 1916. By Morgan Poitiaux Robinson. Richmond, VA : Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Hathitrust.

Maps

Greensville CountyDinwiddie CountyNottoway CountyLunenburg CountyMecklenburg CountyWarren CountyNorthampton CountyVA BRUNSWICK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

  • Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. 2 vols. - Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL. Includes individuals who migrated out of Brunswick County to other parts of the country.
  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1975):248-254. CD available at: American Ancestors ($), FHL. These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Brunswick County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on p. 254.
  • Some Migrations from Virginia to South Carolina. 1983. By Mary McCampbell Bell. The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Spring 1983):97-102; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Spring 1984):94-99. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 11-12

Military

French and Indian War
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Brunswick County, see p. 68-69.
  • Soldiers From Brunswick County, Virginia, in the French and Indian War. By Mrs. Carstairs Bracey. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):193-194.
  • Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. By William Armstrong Crozier. 1954. Baltimore : Southern Book Co. Online at: Internet Archive, Hathitrust, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in Brunswick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Brunswick County supplied soldiers for the:

- 15th Virginia Regiment (6th Company)[10]

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Brunswick County on page 129.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969 and 1991. Reprints include an Added Index to States. Online at: Ancestry. FHL Collection. Virginia section begins on page 238.
War of 1812

Brunswick County men served in the 66th and 96th Regiments.[11]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Brunswick County, p. 64.
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. 2007. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : Mountain Press. Online at: Mountain Press ($). Free online surname index. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL.
Civil War

Brunswick County men served in regiments (and companies) from their home county as well as neighboring counties. Because Confederate units often reorganized, this list might not be complete.

Additional information for the following regiments can be at FHL book 975.5575 H2n, pp. 158-174, and FHL book 975.5575 M2p.

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- 5th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Brunswick Guard).
- 5th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Wilson's)(Archer's)(Confederate).
- 12th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Huger Grays) and Company I (Meherrin Grays).[12]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Brunswick Blues).[13]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Brunswick Grays or Brunswick Guard).[14]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- 53rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Ebenezer Grays).[15]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B3 (Brunswick Blues).[16]
- 66th Regiment, Virginia Infantry Militia (Confederate)
- 96th Regiment, Virginia Infantry Militia (Confederate) was part of the 15th Brigade along with the precedingly mentioned 66th Regiment, Virginia Infantry Militia (Confederate) as mentioned in FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29 titled, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865, page 241.
  • Southside Virginia in the Civil War : Amelia, Brunswick, Charlotte, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, & Prince Edward Counties. c1999. By Anthony J. Gage. Appomattox, Virginia : H.E. Howard. Online at: BestOnlineBooks.

Records and histories are available, including:

Miscellaneous Records

Naturalization

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Brunswick County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

  • Brunswick County, Virginia Obituaries. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.
  • Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online at Colonial Williamsburg. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Probate Records

A free index to Brunswick County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1732-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.

SamPubCo has created a free online resource that serves as a good starting place to search for Colonial Brunswick County wills:

Other Brunswick County probate resources include:

  • Brunswick County, Virginia, Deeds, Wills, Etc., No. 1, 1732-1740. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1957):73-79; Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1957):124-131; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1957):163-168; Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1958):33-37; Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1958):87-90; Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1958):124-127; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1958):172-176; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1959):27-33; Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1959):65-70; Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1959):103-112; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1959):153-161. Online at: A-G Internet Archive, H-L Internet Archive, American Ancestors ($), FHL.
  • Brunswick County, Virginia Wills. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.
  • Brunswick County, Virginia Wills, Etc. By W. B. Cridlin. Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 22. Online at: Google Books.
  • Brunswick County, Virginia Wills, 1739-1750. Miami Beach. Florida : T.L.C. Genealogy, 1991.
  • Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. 1987. By William Lindsay Hopkins. Richmond, Virginia : W. L. Hopkins. Available at FHL.

Online Probate Records

  • 1639 – 1850 - Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1739 - 1750 - Brunswick County, Virginia Wills and Deeds. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($). Index to Wills and Indentures (Deeds).
  • 1739 - 1750 - Brunswick County, Virginia. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($) Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships.
  • 1751 - 1761 - Brunswick County, Virginia Wills. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1751 - 1761 - Brunswick County, Virginia. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($) Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships.
  • 1751 - 1769 - Brunswick County, Virginia. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($). Index to Inventories, Accounts, Wills, Book No. 3.
  • 1764 - 1769 - Brunswick County, Virginia Wills. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1764 - 1769 - Brunswick County, Virginia. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($) Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships.
  • 1783 - 1785 - Brunswick County, Virginia Wills. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1783 - 1785 - Brunswick County, Virginia. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($) Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships.

Research Guides

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Brunswick County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1962):34-38. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL.
  • Genealogical Research in Brunswick County. By John W. Pritchett. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 32, No. 3 (2006). Online at: VGS ($), FHL.

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • 1748 - Brunswick County, Va., Poll List, 1748. William and Mary College Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 26 (1917):59-64. Online at: USGenWeb Archives, FHL.
Reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, available at FHL.
  • 1782 - Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, FHL 975.5 R4f 1978.
  • 1782-1815 - Brunswick County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1815. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
  • 1783 - Personal Property Tax Lists. Online at: RootsWeb.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 - The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. c1987. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Brunswick County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1787 - Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1975):248-254. CD available at: New England Ancestors ($), FHL. These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Brunswick County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on p. 254.
  • 1788, 1798 - 1788 and 1798 Personal Property Tax Lists of Brunswick County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 - Brunswick County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1967):35-38; Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):67-70; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):116-120; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):175-178. Online at: USGenWeb Archives, CD available at: New England Ancestors ($), FHL.
  • 1815 - 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Brunswick County is included in Vol. 2.

Vital Records

Birth

Indexes to Brunswick County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records. Beth Fridley has published abstracts of Brunswick County births from 1853 through 1896 online at Ancestry:

Marriage
  • 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages. Online at: FindMyPast ($).
  • 1730-1852 - Marriage Records of Brunswick County, Virginia, 1730 - 1852. c1976. (Originally published in 1953.) By Augusta B. Fothergill. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Online at: WVAncestry, Geneanet ($), FHL. This compilation includes more than 3,000 marriage records from Brunswick County.
  • 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1750-1810 - Marriage Bonds and Ministers' Returns of Brunswick County, Virginia, 1750-1810. 1953, 1982. By Catherine Lindsay Knorr. Easley, South Carolina : Southern Historical Press. Southern Historical Press ($).
  • 1750-1861 - Brunswick County, Virginia Marriage Bonds, 1750-1861. 1997. By Joel Ricks. Salem, Massachusetts : Higginson Book Company.
  • 1750-1861 - Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1750-1861 - Brunswick County Marriages 1750 to 1861 Virginia Pioneers
  • 1750-1872 - Brunswick County Marriage Index 1750-1872. Batch M535801 at FamilySearch.</ref>
  • 1751-1853 - Brunswick County Marriage Index 1751-1853. Batch M868576 at FamilySearch.</ref>
  • 1872-1885 - Brunswick County Marriage Index 1872-1885. Batch M535802 at FamilySearch.</ref>
  • 1885-1895 - Brunswick County Marriage Index 1885-1895. Batch M535803 at FamilySearch.
  • 1936-1988 - Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch.
Divorce
Deaths
Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Brunswick County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Brunswick County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Brunswick County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. http://brunswickchamber.com
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brunswick County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  4. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  5. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  6. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:492. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 287. Digital version at Google Books.
  8. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  9. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 72. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 57. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. William D. Henderson, 12th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 8.
  13. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  14. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  15. William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
  16. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
  17. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.