Brumstead, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Brumstead, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Tunstead and Happing|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
BRUMSTEAD (St. Peter), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Happing, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (N.) from Stalham. 
Brunstead (aka Brunstead) St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norfolk.
Brumstead has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085. In the great book Brumstead is recorded by the names Brumestade, and Brunestade. The main landholders was Roger Bigot. The main tenant is said to be Robert from Roger Bigot. The survey also mentions that there were 30 goats, a church and a mill. There was a pannage or woodland for 16 pigs. In the survey the size of the local woodland was given as to the number of swine the woodland could support.The name Brumstead is believed to derive from the "place of broom".
The village has also been known for hundreds of years as Brunstead, as old maps demonstrate. Brunstead is also the name by which the village is known locally, and the name on the village sign.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Tunstead 1837-1869
- Smallburgh 1870-1938
- North Walsham 1939-1974
Brumstead, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Brumstead, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 263/ 1-6
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Brunstead.htm transcript of 1891 census
Poor Law Unions
For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Brumstead on GenUKI
- Parish Info
- Brumstead History
- Church Info
- British Listed Building online
- List of Rectors British History online
- Norfolk churches website
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 412-415. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.