Bruera, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Bruera, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Mary Church Bruera
|Poor Law Union||Congleton|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1893|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Bruera St Mary is now an ecclesiatical parish on the site of a former ancient chapel to Chester St Oswalds. It was created as a parish in 1868.
The settlement of Bruera is not recorded in the Domesday Book and the first mention of the church is in the Chartulary of St Werburgh's Abbey, Chester dating from around 1150. It was then a chapel in the parish of St Oswald's, Chester.
CHURTON-HEATH, or Bruera, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Oswald, Chester, union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 5¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Chester. Lewis. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Bruera parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Bruera Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1657-1909||1685-1910||1680-1899|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1657-1909||1685-1910||1680-1899|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–74)
- Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–71)
- Tarvin (1871–1930)
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Bruera or Churton Heath on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales 1848. Date accessed: 8 February 2013.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 70–74
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 118, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 25, ISBN 1871731232