To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Brown County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brown County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Brown County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Brown County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 4, 1836
County Seat Nashville
Courthouse
Address Brown County Courthouse
Main St and Van Buren Street
Nashville, IN 47448
Phone: 812.988.5510
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1836 1882 1836 1874 1836 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Gen. Jacob Brown, who defeated the British at the Battle of Sackett's Harbor in the War of 1812. It's county seat is Nashville and was founded February 4, 1836.[4] It is located in the South-central area of the state.[5]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Morgan  • Johnson  • Bartholomew  • Jackson  • Monroe

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Courthouse destroyed by fire, all records except some clerk's files were lost.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Brown County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Histories[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Brown County, Indiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

Online County Histories

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Morgan CountyJohnson CountyBartholomew CountyJackson CountyMonroe CountyIN BROWN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Brown County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Brown County.


Civil War Books

  • Indiana Genealogical Society. Indiana Veterans Enrollment List. 1890 Brown County. [Indiana]: (Indiana Genealogical Society, 2006.) CD-ROM no. 4168 Computer US/CAN Desktop  FHL Collection   other library


  • "Military History" in Blanchard, Charles. Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 1884.) page 703-713,  977.2 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other library    INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918[edit | edit source]
World War II, 1941-1945[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Brown County Courthouse
Main St and Van Buren Street
Nashville, IN 47448
Phone: 812.988.5510

Some records lost in 1873 fire
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage and probate and court records from 1836
divorce records from 1850, court ordered birth records from 1942.
County Recorder has land records from 1874. [6]

Archives[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Brown County Genealogy Society
PO Box 1202
Nashville, IN 47448-1202
Telephone Number: 812-320-6237
E-mail: radunn1953@aol.com
Website

Brown County Historical Society
90 E. Gould Street
PO Box 668
Nashville, IN 47448-0668
Telephone Number: 812-988-2899
E-mail: julia@browncountyhistorycenter.org
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.




For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Brown County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Brown County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Websites[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brown County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Brown County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Brown County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/brown/ accessed 3/01/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Brown County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown_County,_Indiana accessed 3/01/2017.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Browne County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.