Broward County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Broward County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Broward County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||April 30, 1915|
|County Seat||Fort Lauderdale|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Census
- 6.1 Church
- 6.2 Cities
- 6.3 Court
- 6.4 Immigration
- 6.5 Land
- 6.6 Local Histories
- 6.7 Maps
- 6.8 Military
- 6.9 Newspapers
- 6.10 Probate
- 6.11 Taxation
- 6.12 Vital Records
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Broward County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Broward County Courthouse
201 SE 6th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate divorce, court and land records from 1915
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, Governor of Florida from 1905 to 1909. The County Seat is Fort Lauderdale and the county was created 1915. The County is located in the Southeast area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Broward County The following are locations in the county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Broward County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Broward County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Fort Lauderdale
Cities[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1944 - 1945 Florida and South Carolina, Airplane Arrival Manifests FamilySearch
- NARA Ships Passenger Lists
These passenger lists cover:
1834 - 1897 Immigration of Russians to the United States
1/12/1846 -12/31/1851 Irish Famine
1850 - 1897 Germans to the United States
1855 - 1900 Italians to the United States
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Broward County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
Military[edit | edit source]
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I[edit | edit source]
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Broward County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Broward County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Broward County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 Probate Records FamilySearch
- 1810 – 1974 Florida Wills and Probate Records Ancestry.com $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
FLGenWeb Executions in Broward Co
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877 - 1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Broward County Genealogical Society
PO Box 485
Ft. Lauderdale 33302
Oakland Park Historical Society
3976 NE Sixth Ave.
Oakland Park, FL 33334
Old Fort Lauderdale Village and Museum, Fort Lauderdale Historical Society
219 WS 2nd Avenue,
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Telephone Number: 954-463-4431
Jewish Genealogical Society of Broward County
PO Box 17251
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33318
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Cocoa Florida Family History Center (Rockledge)
- Coral Springs Florida Family History Center
- Plantation Florida Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Broward County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Broward County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Broward County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc
- Broward County, USGenWeb Archives
- Broward County, FLGenWeb Project
- Broward County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Broward County FL Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Broward County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Broward County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Broward County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/broward/ accessed 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Broward County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Broward_County,_Florida_Genealogy 04/24/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Broward County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broward County,_Florida, accessed 24 September 2018.