Broughton in Furness, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Broughton in Furness, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Broughton in Furness, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Ulverston|
|Parish registers: 1634; For more records see Kirkby Ireleth|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Rural Deanery||Furness and Cartmel|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
BROUGHTON-in-Furness,or West Broughton, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Kirkby-Ireleth, union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands,N. division of the county of Lancaster, 29 miles (N.W.)from Lancaster, and 270 (N. W. by N.) from London. 
Broughton-in-Furness is a small town on the southern boundary of England's Lake District National Park. It is located in the Furness region of Cumbria that was part of Lancashire before 1974. It lies near the River Duddon, just inland from the West Cumbrian coastal village of Foxfield.
Broughton is mentioned in the Domesday Book as one of the townships forming the Manor of Hougun held by Earl Tostig. Dating from around the eleventh century, the original settlement grew to become the local market town for both fishing and agriculture. The central obelisk in the town square was constructed to mark the Jubilee of King George III in 1810.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Church of England
Broughton in Furness chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|BROUGHTON IN FURNESS ST MARY MAGDALENE Chapelry (1634) Indexes|
|FS||1665-1812||1662-1678, 1686, 1697-1812
|KIRKBY IRELETH ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1681) Indexes (ancient parish containing BROUGHTON IN FURNESS Chapelry)|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Broughton in Furness and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRKBY IRELETH ST CUTHBERT PARISH page.
Microfilm of original manuscripts in the Cumbria Record Office, Kendal.
Record contains burials, 1662-1686, marriages, 1663-1677, burials, 1667-1694, baptisms, marriages, burials, (transcript), 1662-1694, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1689-1753, baptisms, burials, 1754-1812, marriages, 1696-1697, baptisms, 1813-1901, marriages, 1754-1915, burials, 1813-1901, banns, 1824-1901.
The chapelry of Broughton-in-Furness is in the parish of Ulverston.
Cumbria Record Office no.: BPR/6/I1/1-2, I2/1-2, I3/1-3, I4/1-2, I6/1
Parish registers FHL BRITISH Film 1471921 Items 3-12
Bishop's transcripts for Broughton-in-Furness Microfilm of original records in the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Baptisms 1673-1677, 1694-1877; marriages 1673- 1677, 1694-1870; burials 1673-1677, 1694-1876. FHL BRITISH Film 1040308
Baptisms, burials, 1877-1896. FHL BRITISH Film 1040309 Item 1
The registers of the parish church of Kirkby-in-Furness, in the county of Lancaster baptisms, 1701-1812; burials, 1681-1812; marriages, 1728-1754
transcribed by Henry Brierley
Brierley, Henry 1846-1933, Dickinson, Robert Daniels, M. B.
Church of England. Parish Church of Kirkby-Ireleth (Lancashire), (
publications: Rochdale [Lancashire] : Lancashire Parish Register Society, 1911-c1988
subject class: 942.72 K29
Vol. 43 is a photocopy of original publication.
Vol. 127 title varies: The register of the parish of Kirkby Ireleth / transcribed and edited by Canon E. C. Whitaker and Phyllis Tyson ; indexed by W. D. and Mrs. J Knipe.
Vol. 43 With: The registers of the parish church of Torver, near Conistpn, 1599-1792. Printed Rochdale for the Lancashire Parish Register Society by James Clegg.
Vol. 127 With: The registers of the chapel of Ireth / transcribed and edited by Robert Dickinson ; indexed by M. B. Daniels.
Contents: Vol. 43. Baptisms, 1701-1812; burials, 1681-1812; marriages, 1728-1754. -- Vol. 127. baptisms, 1813-1837; marriages, 1754-1837; burials, 1813-1837.
Vol. 127 was printed in Newport, Shropshire for the Lancashire Parish Register Society by Advertiser Printing Works, c1988.
Kirkby-in-Furness known as Kirkby-Ireleth.
Vol. 43 Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1969. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. FHL BRITISH Film 599511 Item 3
Vol. 43 also on microfiche. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1998. 4 microfiches. FHL BRITISH Fiche 6142639
Vol. 127 Also on microfiche. Salt Lake City : Fil the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1998. 1998. 5 microfiches. FHL BRITISH Fiche 6142722
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Broughton in Furness. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-412. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.