To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Brookfield, Madison County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Madison County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Brookfield, NY

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Brookfield, Madison County, New York Genealogy newspaper images:

  • Brookfield NY Courier 1876-1977
  • Brookfield NY Forest Stream and Farm 1890
  • Brookfield NY Young America 1875-1876

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

The town of Brookfield does not have a library but check out the Mid York Library System of which Madison County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Brookfield that have public libraries.

Hamilton Public Library
13 Broad Street
Hamilton, NY 13346
Phone: (315)824-3060
E-mail: hamiltonlibrary@midyork.org

Oneida Public Library
220 Broad Street
Oneida, New York 13421
Phone: 315-363-3050

Genealogical resources: Local History Room
The Oneida Public Library’s Local History Room contains a noncirculating collection of over 1,560 books, pamphlets, maps and genealogical materials relating to the City of Oneida, Madison County, Oneida County and New York State. It also contains on microfilm Oneida City and Madison County newspapers dating back to 1846, a complete set of published directories of Oneida City and surrounding communities and U.S. Census data for Madison County from 1850 to 1930.

Special Collections and Archives
Colgate University Libraries
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
Phone: 315-228-7305

Brookfield Museum and Giles School
10556 Skaneateles Turnpike
Brookfield, NY 13314
Appointments: Please call 315-861-2651 or 315-899- 5893

Societies[edit | edit source]

Brookfield Historical Society[1]
PO Box 143
Brookfield, NY 13314
Phone: 315-899-5893/315-899-5896

Madison County Historical Society
435 Main Street
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: 315-363-4136/315-361-9735
E–mail: history@mchs1900.org

Genealogical Resources: The Mary King Research Library collections includes the following items, family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The Society also has an online newsletter.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

City of Brookfield, Clerk[2]
Town Hall
10535 Main Street
PO Box 83
Brookfield, NY 13314
Phone: 315-899-3364
Sherry Kabana (2011)
Brookfield Town Clerk Hours:
Tuesday and Wednesday - 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Friday - 4pm - 7:00pm
Saturday - 8am - noon
E-mail sherry@brookfieldny.com

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Town Historian

Madison Diane Van Slyke P. O. Box 54 Bouckville, NY 13310 315.893.7910 fvanslyk@twcny.rr.com

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Brookfield, Madison County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 425-26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
  2. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 425. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places[edit | edit source]