Bronington, Wrexham, Wales Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Bronington, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...
The parish church of Holy Trinity (which was at one time known as New Fens Chapel) was converted from a former brick tithe barn in 1836 and later extended in 1863.
In 1872 the township of Bettisfield became a separate parish.
To the south of the village is Fenn's Moss, a large area of peat bog which is an important National Nature Reserve, rich in wildlife. This was formerly a major source of peat for fuel and later horticulture.
|before 31 March 1974||Flintshire (detached)|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996,||Wrexham|
Births, marriages and deaths in Bronington are recorded in the GRO indexes as:
|1 Jul 1837 - 31 Sep 1935||Hanmer||Ellesmere|| XVIII (1837-1851)|
|1 Oct 1935 - 31 Dec 1953||Overton|| 11b (1935-46)|
|1 Jan 1954 - 1974||Maelor||8A (1954-74).|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The following Bronington Parish Registers have been deposited at the Flintshire Record Office in Hawarden:
There are no official I.G.I. entries for Holy Trinity, Bronington.
Poor Law Union Records
Bronington was part of the Ellesmere Union when it was created on 14 November 1836. The workhouse was built in Haughton, Ellesmere. The records for the Ellesmere Union are held at Shropshire Record Office in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.