To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Broad Clyst, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Broad Clyst, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broad Clyst, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cliston
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BROAD CLIST, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict in St. Thomas' district, Devon. The village stands on the river Clist, adjacent to the Bristol and Exeter railway, 5 miles NNE of Exeter; and has a station on the railway, and a post office‡ under Exeter.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Broad Clyst, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Broad Clyst, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1653-1850
1653-1662, 1685-1850


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Broad Clyst on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. (1870-72). Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.