Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire|
|Hundred||Highworth, Cricklade and Staple|
|Poor Law Union||Highworth and Swindon|
|Parish registers: 1680|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1585|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Highworth|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
BLUNSDON (Broad), a chapelry in Highworth parish, Wiltshire; 3½ miles SE of Cricklade, and 4 N of Swindon railway station. It includes thetything of Bury-Blunsdon.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.