To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Brittany

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Brittany, France ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Brittany (Breton: Breizh, French: Bretagne) is a peninsula to the north west of France. Historically a Celtic speaking country, it is now absorbed into France, although there is still a strong nationalist movement there. The current official region of "Bretagne" does not correspond exactly with historical Brittany, as it leaves out the city of Nantes and the department of Loire-Atlantique, which is traditionally Breton. Many people in that department still identify as Breton.

History[edit | edit source]

Brittany's name means Little Britain, and is supposed to originate with the Celtic peoples who fled from there when the English invaded.

Brittany was brought into France by Anne of Brittany marrying into the French royal line.

Traditionally a dukedom, during the French Revolution, this special status was removed.


Church Records and Civil Registration[edit | edit source]


1521-1896: France, Brittany, Church and Civil Records, 1521-1896 - Birth, marriage, and death records from Ille-et-Vilaine and Côtes-d'Armor.

Departments[edit | edit source]


Major settlements[edit | edit source]

Brest
Lorient (An Oriant)
Nantes (Naoned - traditionally in Brittany)
Quimper (Kemper)
Rennes (Roazhon)
Saint Brieuc (Sant-Brieg)
Saint Malo (Sant-Maloù)
Saint Nazaire (Sant-Nazer/Señ Neñseir, traditionally in Brittany)
Vannes (Gwened)

Language[edit | edit source]

See this article for language/languages of Brittany.