British Columbia, Canada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
British Columbia Research Topics
British Columbia Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
British Columbia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Canada
British Columbia

Guide to British Columbia ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

British Columbia History

British Columbia is a province in Canada. It is in the western most portion of the country. The capital of British Columbia is Victoria.
In 1862, a Smallpox outbreak in Victoria spread throughout the coast. The arrival of Europeans began around the mid-18th century, as fur traders entered the area to harvest sea otters in 1774.This co-occupancy was ended with the Oregon Treaty of 1846. The colony of British Columbia was amalgamated with the Colony of Vancouver Island to form the Colony of British Columbia in 1866, which was, in turn, succeeded by the present day province of British Columbia following the Canadian Confederation of 1871. British Columbia became the sixth province to join Confederation on July 20, 1871. The borders of the province were not completely settled. The Treaty of Washington sent the Pig War San Juan Islands Border dispute to arbitration in 1871 and in 1903, the province's territory shrank again after the Alaska boundary dispute settled the vague boundary of the Alaska Panhandle. British Columbia was the locus of immigration from Europe, China, and Japan to supply a labor force.
[1]

This article needs to be updated. Please update this section to reflect recent events.

Getting Started

Getting Started with British Columbia Research

Links to articles on getting started with British Columbia research.

British Columbia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in British Columbia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

British Columbia Map

BC.png

Populated Places

  • Fort Nelson
  • Kamloops
  • Nanaimo
  • Penticton
  • Osoyoos
  • Prince Rupert
1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 70 Mile House    
  Link
 100 Mile House        Link   Link
 105 Mile House    IR2      Link
 108 Mile House          
 150 Mile House         
 Abbotsford     City    Link   Link
 Agassiz       Link   Link
 Ahousat      IR   Link   Link
 Ainsworth       Link   Link
 Aiyanish      
  
 Alberni       Link  
 Albion       Link   Link
 Aldergrove       Link    Link
 Alert Bay    Village/IR     Link
 Alexandra Lodge       Link  
 Alexandria          Link
 Alexis Creek          Link
 Aleza Lake       Link   Link
 Alkali Lake         Link 
 Alta Lake         Link
 Ambleside            Link
 Anahim Lake         Link
 Anmore    Village   Link   Link
 Annieville          Link
 Anyox       Link   Link
 Argenta           Link
 Armstrong    City   Link   Link
 Arrandale         Link
 Arrow Park       Link  
 Arrowhead       Link   Link
 Ashcroft    Village   Link   Link
 Ashton Creek       Link  
 Aspen Grove       
  Link
 Atlin       Link   Link
 Attachie          Link
 Australian         Link
 Avola       Link  
 Baker Creek          Link
 Baldonnel         Link
 Balfour       Link    Link
 Bamberton         Link
 Bamfield          Link
 Barkerville       Link   Link
 Barnet         Link
 Barnston Island           Link
 Barriere       Link   Link
 Basque          Link
 Bear Lake          Link
 Beaton           Link  
 Beaverdell          Link
 Bedwell Bay          Link
 Bedwell Harbour            Link
 Belcarra    Village     Link
 Bella Bella           Link
 Bella Coola        Link   Link
 Bennett         Link
 Benvoulin          Link
 Beresford       Link   Link
 Birch Island       Link  
 Bighorn         
 Birken          Link
 Black Creek          Link
 Blackpool       Link  Link
 Blind Bay         Link
 Blubber Bay          Link
 Blue River       Link   Link
 Blunden Harbour         Link
 Bonaparte         Link
 Boothroyd         Link
 Boston Bar       Link   Link
 Boswell         Link
 Botanical Beach          Link
 Boundary Bay           Link
 Bountiful          Link
 Bowen Island       Link   Link
 Bowser          Link
 Bralorne          Link
 Brentwood Bay         Link
 Bridesville       Link  Link
 Bridgeport         Link
 Brighouse          Link
 Brilliant         Link
 Brisco       Link  Link
 Britannia Beach         Link
 Brocklehurst         Link
 Brookmere      
  Link
 Brunswick          Link
 Brunswick Beach         Link
 Buick         Link
 Bull Harbour         Link
 Burnaby       Link    Link
 Burns Lake    Village   Link   Link
 Burquitlam         Link
 Burrard       Link  
 Burton       Link   Link
 Cache Creek     Village   Link   Link
 Cameronton       Link  Link
 Cameron Bar 13    IR     Link
 Campbell River        Link   Link
 Canal Flats     Village      Link
 Canoe      Link   Link
 Cape Scott       Link   Link
 Castlegar    City  
  Link
 Cawston       Link   Link
 Cecil Lake        Link   Link
 Cedar         Link
 Cedarvale       Link   Link
 Celista       Link   Link
 Central Saanich       Link   Link
 Charlie Lake          Link
 Chase     Village   Link    Link
 Chemainus       Link   Link 
 Cherryville        Link   Link
 Chetwynd          Link
 Chilliwack      City   Link   Link
 Chinook Cove       Link  
 Christina Lake       Link   Link
 Chu Chua       Link   Link
 Clayburn       Link   Link
 Clayhurst         Link
 Clayton      
 Link
 Clearbrook         Link
 Clearwater       Link   Link
 Clinton    Village   Link   Link
 Clo-oose    IR   Link   Link
 Cluculz Lake          Link
 Coal Harbour            Link
 Coalmont       Link   Link
 Coast         Link
 Cobble Hill       Link   Link
 Coldstream       Link   Link
 Colwood    City      Link
 Comox    Town   Link   Link
 Coombs         Link
 Copper Mountain       Link   Link
 Coquitlam    City   Link   Link
 Courtenay    City   Link   Link
 Cowichan Bay
       Link   Link
 Cowichan Lake        Link   Link
 Cranberry Junction          Link
 Cranbrook    City   Link   Link
 Creston      Town   Link   Link
 Crofton         Link
 Crowsnest       Link  Link
 Cumberland      Village   Link   Link 
 D'Arcy         Link
 Dawson Creek      Link  Link
 Dease Lake         Link
 Delta       Link   Link
 Denman Island       Link   Link
 Deroche       Link   Link
 Devine         Link
 Dog Creek          Link
 Donald        Link   Link
 Duncan     City   Link   Link
 Dunster         Link
 Eagle Bay       Link   Link
 Earls Cove          Link
 Ecoole       Link  Link
 Eddontenajon          Link
 Edgewood       Link   Link
 Elkford         Link
 Ellison       Link   Link
 Enderby    City   Link   Link
 Errington         Link
 Esquimalt        Link   Link
 Fanny Bay         Link
 Fairmont Hot Springs           Link
 Fairview       Link   Link
 Falkland       Link   Link
 Farmington         Link
 Fauquier       Link   Link
 Fernie    City   Link   Link
 Field         Link
 Flood       Link   Link
 Forest Grove       Link   Link
 Fort Fraser          Link
 Fort Langley        Link   Link
 Fort Nelson        Link   Link
 Fort Rupert           Link  
 Fort St. James        Link   Link
 Fort St. John     City   Link   Link
 Fort Steele         Link   Link
 Fort Ware          Link
 Fountain         Link
 Francois Lake          Link
 Fraser Lake     Village   Link   Link
 Fraser Mills       Link  Link
 French Creek       Link   Link
 Fruitvale    Village      Link
 Fulford Harbour         Link
 Furry Creek         Link
 Gabriola       Link  Link
 Gabriola Island          Link
 Galena Bay          Link
 Ganges         Link
 Gibsons    Town     Link
 Gibsons Landing       Link   Link
 Glenrosa       Link   Link
 Gold Bridge          Link
 Gold River    Village   Link   Link
 Golden    Town   Link   Link
 Goldstream         Link
 Goodlow           Link
 Grand Forks    City   Link    Link
 Granisle    Village      Link
 Granite Creek       Link   Link
 Grasmere         Link
 Greendale       Link   Link
 Greenwood     City   Link   Link
 Greenville           Link
 Grindrod       Link   Link
 Groundbirch            Link
 Haig         Link
 Hagensborg         Link
 Hanceville          Link
 Harrison Hot Springs     Village   Link   Link
 Harrison Mills        Link   Link
 Harrop       Link   Link
 Hartley Bay          Link
 Hatzic       Link   Link
 Hazelton        Link   Link
 Hedley        Link   Link
 Heffley Creek          Link
 Heriot Bay           Link
 Hills       Link  Link
 Hixon         Link
 Holberg          Link
 Honeymoon Bay           Link
 Hope    Town   Link    Link
 Horsefly         Link
 Houston            Link
 Hudson's Hope        Link  Link
 Hullcar       Link  Link
 Invermere        Link   Link
 Ioco       Link  Link
 Jackson Bay             Link
 Jacksons          Link
 Juskatla         Link
 Kaleden          Link
 Kamloops    City   Link   Link
 Kaslo         Link
 Keats Landing         Link
 Keefers           Link
 Keithly Creek      
  Link
 Kelly Lake       Link  Link
 Kelowna     City   Link  Link
 Keremeos       Village   Link   Link 
 Kettle Valley       Link   Link
 Kimberley      City   Link   Link
 Kimsquit       Link  Link
 Kingcome Inlet           Link
 Kinnaird             Link
 Kispiox           Link
 Kitimat        Link   Link
 Kitsumgallum         Link
 Kitsumkalum       Link  Link
 Lac la Hache        Link   Link
 Lac le Jeune            Link
 Ladner       Link    Link
 Ladysmith    Town   Link   Link
 Laidlaw       Link   Link
Lake Country         Link
Lake Cowichan    Town   Link   Link
Langdale       Link
Langford    City     Link
Langley    District Municipality   Link   Link
Langley     City     Link
Lantzville         Link
Lardeau       Link   Link
Likely       Link    Link
Lillooet       Link   Link
Lions Bay    Village     Link
Little Fort       Link   Link
Logan Lake         Link
Lone Butte       Link   Link
Louis Creek       Link   Link
Lower Post         Link
Lucas         Link
Lumby       Link   Link
Lund         Link
Lytton    Village   Link   Link
Mackenzie       Link   Link
Madeira Park         Link
Malahat         Link
Mansons Landing       Link   Link
Maple Ridge       Link   Link
Masset    Village     Link
McBride       Link   Link
McClure       Link   Link
Merritt    City   Link   Link
Merville       Link   Link
Metchosin       Link   Link
Mill Bay         Link
Mission       Link   Link
Moberly Lake         Link
Montney         Link
Montrose    Village     Link
Moresby Camp          Link
Moricetown         Link
Mount Currie         Link
Mount Lehman (Abbotsford)         Link
Moyie       Link   Link
 Nakusp    Village   Link   Link
 Namu          Link
 Nanaimo       City   Link   Link
 Nanoose Bay        Link   Link
 Naramata        Link   Link
 Nass Camp       Link   Link
 Needles       Link   Link
 Nelson      City   Link   Link
 Nemaiah Valley      IR2   Link   Link
 Nesikep        Link   Link
 New Aiyansh       Link   Link
 New Brighton          Link   Link
 New Denver    Village    Link   Link
 New Hazelton     Link   Link   Link
 New Westminster     City   Link   Link
 Nicola       Link   Link
 Nimpo Lake          Link   Link
 North Bend       Link   Link
 North Delta       Link   Link
 North Pine       Link   Link
 North Saanich        Link   Link
 North Vancouver      City   Link   Link
 Notch Hill        Link   Link
 N'quat'qua     IR   Link   Link
 Oak Bay       Link   Link
 Oakridge       Link   Link
 Ocean Falls         Link   Link
 Okanagan Centre       Link   Link
 Okanagan Falls        Link   Link
 Okanagan Mission       Link   Link
 Olalla       Link   Link
 Oliver       Town   Link   Link
 Olsen Valley       Link   Link
 Ootischenia       Link   Link
 Ootsa Lake       Link   Link
 Osoyoos      Town   Link   Link
 Oyama       Link   Link
 Oyster River       Link   Link
 Parksville     Town    Link   Link
 Peachland       Link   Link
 Pemberton       Village    Link   Link
 Pender Island       Link   Link
 Penny       Link   Link
 Penticton    City    Link   Link
 Phoenix       Link   Link
 Pink Mountain       Link   Link
 Pitt Meadows         Link   Link
 Pleasant Camp         Link   Link
 Poett Nook        Link   Link
 Popkum         Link   Link
 Poplar City       Link  
Port Alberni      City   Link   Link
 Port Alice       Link   Link
 Port Coquitlam     City   Link    Link
 Port Douglas       Link   Link
 Port Edward           Link   Link  
 Port Essington          Link   Link
 Port Hardy          Link   Link
 Port McNeill        Town   Link   Link
 Port Mellon       Link   Link
 Port Moody      City    Link   Link
 Port Renfrew        Link   Link
 Pouce Coupe      Village   Link   Link
 Powell River     City   Link   Link
 Prespatou       Link   Link
 Prince George      City   Link    Link
 Prince Rupert     City   Link   Link
 Princeton  Vermilion Forks
 Town    Link   Link
 Procter  
    Link   Link
 Progress        Link   Link
 Qualicum        Link   Link
 Qualicum Beach     Town   Link   Link
 Quathiaski Cove       Link   Link
 Quatsino        Link   Link
 Queen Charlotte City    Village    Link   Link
 Queen's Bay       Link   Link
 Quesnel     City   Link   Link
 Quesnel Forks       Link   Link
 Radium Hot Springs       Link   Link
 Redroofs       Link   Link
 Revelstoke         City   Link   Link
 Richfield       Link   Link
 Richmond     City   Link   Link
 River Jordan  Jordan River
    Link   Link
 Roberts Creek       Link   Link
 Robson       Link   Link
 Rock Bay       Link   Link
 Rock Creek       Link   Link
 Roe Lake       Link   Link
 Rolla       Link   Link
 Rose Prairie       Link   Link
 Rosedale       Link   Link
 Rossland     City   Link   Link
 Rosswood       Link   Link
 Roy       Link   Link
 Royston       Link   Link
 Ruskin       Link   Link
 Saanich     City   Link   Link
 Salmo    Village   Link   Link
 Salmon Arm     City   Link   Link
 Salmon River       Link  Link
 Saltair       Link   Link
 Sandon      Link   Link
 Sandspit       Link   Link
 Sardis       Link   Link
 Saturna Island       Link   Link
 Savary Island       Link  Link
 Savona        Link   Link
 Sayward       Link   Link
 Sechelt       Link   Link
 Semahquam       Link   Link
 Seton Portage       Link   Link
 Seymour Arm  Ogdensville
    Link   Link
 Shackan       Link   Link
 Shalath       Link   Link
 Shaw Springs       Link   Link
 Shawnigan Lake       Link   Link
 Shelley       Link   Link
 Sicamous       Link   Link
 Sidney     City   Link   Link
 Silver Creek       Link   Link
 Silverton       Link   Link
 Siska  Cisco
    Link   Link 
 Skookumchuck       Link   Link 
 Skookumchuck Hot  Springs       Link   Link
 Silverdale        Link   Link
 Silverhill       Link   Link
 Skidegate       Link   Link
 Slocan    Village   Link   Link
 Smithers    Town   Link   Link
 Soda Creek       Link   Link
 Sointula       Link   Link
 Sooke     City   Link   Link
 Sorrento       Link   Link
 Spallumcheen       Link   Link
 Sparwood       Link   Link
 Spences Bridge       Link   Link
 Spillimacheen       Link   Link
 Spuzzum       Link   Link
 Squamish       Link   Link
 Squilax       Link   Link
 St. Elmo       Link   Link
 Stanley       Link  Link
 Stave Falls and Stave   Gardens       Link   Link
 Steelhead       Link   Link
 Steveston       Link   Link
 Stewart       Link   Link
 Summerland       Link   Link
 Sunset Prairie       Link   Link
 Sunshine Bay       Link   Link
 Surrey     City   Link   Link
 Surrey Centre       Link   Link
 Swart       Link   Link
 Tachie       Link   Link
 Taft         Link
 Tahsis    Village   Link   Link 
 Tappen       Link   Link
 Tarry's       Link   Link
 Taylor       Link   Link
 Telegraph Cove       Link   Link
 Telegraph Creek       Link   Link
 Telkwa       Link   Link
 Terrace    City   Link   Link
 Tete Jaune Cache       Link   Link
 Thornhill         Link   Link
 Thrums        Link   Link
 Tlell         Link   Link
 Tofino       Link   Link
 Tomslake        Link   Link
 Trail      City   Link   Link
 Tranquille       Link   Link
 Trapp Lake       Link   Link
 Trout Lake    Trout Lake City     Link   Link
 Tsawwassen         Link   Link
 Tulameen  Otter Flat
    Link   Link
 Tumbler Ridge         Link   Link
 Two Rivers       Link   Link
 Ucluelet         Link   Link 
 Union Bay        Link   Link
 Usk         Link   Link
 Valemount      Village    Link   Link
 Vallican         Link   Link
 Van Anda    Vananda
    Link   Link
 Vancouver      City   Link  Link
 Vanderhoof    Town   Link   Link  
 Vavenby        Link   Link
 Vernon     City   Link   Link
 Vesuvius        Link   Link
 Victoria     City   Link   Link
 View Royal    Town   Link   Link
 Walnut Grove       Link   Link
 Warfield    Village   Link   Link
 Wasa        Link   Link
 Wellington       Link   Link
 Wells       Link   Link
 Westbank          Link   Link
 Westbridge       Link   Link
 Westholme       Link   Link
 Westwold       Link   Link
 West Kelowna       Link   Link
 West Vancouver        Link   Link
 Whaletown     Village   Link   Link
 Whistler       Link   Link
 White Rock     City   Link   Link
 Whonnock       Link   Link
 Williams Lake     City   Link  Link
 Windermere       Link   Link
 Winfield       Link   Link
 Wonowon       Link   Link
 Woodfibre        Link   Link
 Woss          Link
 Wynndel       Link   Link
 Yahk       Link   Link
 Yale           Link   Link
 Yarrow        Link   Link
 Yennadon           Link   Link
 Ymir          Link   Link
 Youbou        Link   Link
 Zeballos           Link

British Columbia Counties

The counties are created for the administration of justice, and are not used in the administration of government. Local government is organized by municipalities and by regional districts. The counties are:

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.