To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bristol St Thomas, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Bristol St Thomas, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Thomas, Gloucestershire
-St Thomas the Martyr Bristol.jpg
St Thomas the Martyr Bristol
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1552
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol in the Deanery of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BRISTOL, a city and county of itself, and a considerable port, is situated near the mouth of the Bristol Channel, and between the counties of Gloucester and Somerset, into both of which the town extends. The city of Bristol comprised within its ancient limits many parishes including the parish of St. THOMAS.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Bristol St Thomas, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Somerset Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Somerset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1531-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Somerset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Somerset Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Bristol St Thomas, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1501-1917
1507-1935
1507-1992
ANC 1 1531-1812
1531-1812
1531-1812
ANC 2 1813-1914
1754-1914
1813-1914
TGEN 1590s-1890s
1590s-1837
1590s-1990s
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Information about the parish may be found on Somerset Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Somerset Archives and Local Studies.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]

Bristol Poor Law Unions,England

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Bristol/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Somerset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk