Bristol St Simon, Gloucestershire Genealogy
Guide to Bristol St Simon, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bristol St Simon, Gloucestershire|
|Hundred||Barton Regis; Bristol City|
|Poor Law Union||Bristol|
|Registration District||Bristol; Clifton|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1869-1870|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Bristol St Simon was an Eccesiastical Parish, 1844-1956. It was abolished in 1956.
St Paul's Parish is at the heart of inner city Bristol and St Agnes Church is at the heart of St Paul's Parish. Confusing isn't it? We continue to call ourselves St Paul's Parish because that is the name of the Bristol 'area' that we predominantly serve. Four of the original five churches are left. St Simon's is used by the Greek Orthodox Community, St Werburgh's is a climbing centre and St Paul's is a circus school. St Agnes is the church we worship in. It is part church, part parish hall and part offices used by community groups. It is a place of sanctuary in an increasingly challenging world.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Bristol St Simon, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|BRISTOL ST SIMON PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Publ. London Edinburgh 1870; See at http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/
- 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
- 'Somerset (including Bristol) Parish Coverage,' FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2016.