Bristol Cathedral, Gloucestershire Genealogy
Guide to Bristol Cathedral, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bristol Cathedral, Gloucestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Not Applicable|
|Parish registers: 1669|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
Cathedral History[edit | edit source]
The Cathedral Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity is the Church of England cathedral in the city of Bristol, England, and is commonly known as Bristol Cathedral. Founded in 1140 as St Augustine's Abbey , it became the seat of the bishop and cathedral of the new Diocese of Bristol in 1542.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|BAFHS = Bristol and Avon Family History Society - free|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast.co.uk) - (£)|
|FSBooks = FamilySearch Books - free|
|BRISTOL CATHEDRAL (THE HOLY & UNDIVIDED TRINITY) (1669) Online Records|
Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1642-1996 England, Gloucestershire Non-conformist Records, 1642-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, 'Bristol Cathedral,' in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bristol_Cathedral, accessed 28 May 2016.
- Price, Roger. 'Marriages at Bristol Cathedral 1615-1754,' Bristol and Avon Family History Society website, accessed 28 May 2016.