Bristol Cathedral, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Bristol Cathedral

Guide to Bristol Cathedral, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

See a "Comprehensive List of Bristol City Parishes and Episcopal Chapels"
Bristol Cathedral, Gloucestershire
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1669
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Cathedral History

The Cathedral Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity is the Church of England cathedral in the city of Bristol, England, and is commonly known as Bristol Cathedral. Founded in 1140 as St Augustine's Abbey , it became the seat of the bishop and cathedral of the new Diocese of Bristol in 1542.[1]

Bristol Cathedral is the seat of the bishop of the Diocese of Bristol. Between 1836 and 1897 it was within the merged Diocese of Gloucester and Bristol.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BAFHS = Bristol and Avon Family History Society - free[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast.co.uk) - (£)
FSBooks = FamilySearch Books - free
BRISTOL CATHEDRAL (THE HOLY & UNDIVIDED TRINITY) (1669) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BAFHS 1615-1754
BOYD 1670-1754
FSBooks 1669-1810 1670-1754 1670-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, 'Bristol Cathedral,' in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bristol_Cathedral, accessed 28 May 2016.
  2. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  3. Price, Roger. 'Marriages at Bristol Cathedral 1615-1754,' Bristol and Avon Family History Society website, accessed 28 May 2016.